Take your photography to the next level and beyond...

  • NEWS
  • REVIEWS
  • INSPIRATION
  • COMMUNITY
  • COMPETITIONS

Why not join for free today?

Join for Free

Your total photography experience starts here


Canon EOS 400D - first hands on review

Canon EOS 400D - first hands on review - ePHOTOzine's Gary Wolstenholme was at the launch in London today and has created a sneak preview of Canon's latest digital SLR

 Add Comment

Category : Digital SLRs
Share :

Canon EOS 400D
Canon EOS 400D - first hands on review
Check out what Gary Wolstenholme thinks about the new Canon EOS 400D digital SLR in ePHOTOzine's sneak preview here
View Directory Page : Canon (UK) Ltd

Explore More

Join ePHOTOzine and remove these ads.

Comments


dannyg 10 182 1 United Kingdom
25 Aug 2006 8:54PM
Reading Gary's preview the back of it looks very much like the new Sony Alpha 100. Especially with what looks like the "eye start" sensor under the viewfinder, and the large print rear display with settings information. I look forward to playing with one in my local Jessops.

Also i like th look of the new 50mm f1.2L at last a L series 50mm!!

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

perrism 9 6
25 Aug 2006 9:52PM
There was an L-series 50mm years ago - the hopeless, soft, EF1.0L. Like a complete fool, I bought one.
26 Aug 2006 2:16PM
i hope you've still got it. Even though you say it was hopeless i think they still make a pretty penny on ebay and the like becasue of it's rarity
deviant 10 3.0k 1 United Kingdom
27 Aug 2006 5:08PM
That and the fact you can use them in near pitch dark...
covey 9 1.7k Ireland
27 Aug 2006 9:17PM
Looking to upgrade my 300D but if it's the same size as the 350D, then I don't care what else it has, I won't be buying.
wbk666 8 61
1 Sep 2006 5:05PM
I love my 350D. its so easy to use and not big, bulky or heavy. if the 400 is anything like it then i'll be saving my pennies for one and passing the 350d onto my sons
Goatsmilkuk 9 783
3 Sep 2006 12:46PM
It's seems the camera manufacturers, just keep adding another camera with a little bit more on than the last, in order to just make money, I have my 300D it takes photo's and they ain't half bad, don't feel the need to upgrade. The owners of 12 month old 400D's will be wanting to upgrade to 450D's and so on. It looks to be more aimed at want and not need.
Ann06 8
4 Sep 2006 11:40AM
My eyesight is poor so compared to my 350D the new 2.5" screen will be a huge improvement - a selling point on it's own for me.
10 Dec 2006 6:04PM
My Canon D20 feels a little flimsy with a weighty lens on it, particulary around the card door. The 400D is even more lightweight than the D20. I won't be upgrading until it comes in a stronger box.
31 Jan 2007 10:13PM
I am really pleased with mine. It is a big improvement on the 300D in terms of speed from switching on to being ready to shoot. Burst is far better as well.
The large screen is also very nice. It is a shame they changed the battery.
Dave

Sign In

You must be a member to leave a comment.

ePHOTOzine, the web's friendliest photography community.

Join For Free

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more.