Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Deutsche Börse Photography Prize 2010

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

55% OFF new PortraitPro 12 - use code EPHZROS414.
Category: Competitions

Photography Prize Shortlist Announced - Shortlist announced for Deutsche Börse Photography Prize 2010.

Print Article Add Comment Add CommentJargon Buster: Off Jargon Buster: Off
Deutsche Börse Photography Prize 2010 LogoThe shortlisted artists for the 2010 Deutsche Börse Photography Prize are Anna Fox, Zoe Leonard, Sophie Ristelhueber and Donovan Wylie. The winner will be announced on Wednesday 17th March 2010 at The Photographers' Gallery in London.

Press Release:

The Photographers’ Gallery today named the four shortlisted artists nominated for its annual Deutsche Börse Photography Prize.

The exhibition will be on display next year from 12 February until 18 April 2010, with the winner announced at a special award ceremony on 17 March 2010.

The four shortlisted artists are Anna Fox, Zoe Leonard, Sophie Ristelhueber and Donovan Wylie:
  • Anna Fox (b.1961, UK) is nominated for her exhibition, Cockroach Diaries & Other Stories at Ffotogallery, Cardiff (28 July – 10 October 09), initiated by Impressions, Bradford.
  • Zoe Leonard (b.1961, USA) is nominated for her retrospective exhibition, ZOE LEONARD: Photographs, at the Pinakothek der Moderne, Munich (1 April – 5 July 09), initiated by Fotomuseum Winterthur.
  • Sophie Ristelhueber (b.1949, France) is nominated for her retrospective, Sophie Ristelhueber at the Jeu de Paume, Paris (20 January – 22 March 2009).
  • Donovan Wylie (b.1971, UK) is nominated for his exhibition MAZE 2007/8 at Belfast Exposed (27 March – 1 May 2009).
The Deutsche Börse Photography Prize 2010 is presented by The Photographers’ Gallery, London. The annual award of £30,000 rewards a living photographer, of any nationality, who has made the most significant contribution, in exhibition or publication format, to the medium of photography in Europe between 1 October 2008 and 30 September 2009.

This year’s Jury is: Olivia Maria Rubio (Director of Exhibitions, La Fàbrica, Spain); Gilane Tawadros (Chief Executive, Design Artists Copyright Society, curator and writer); James Welling (artist, USA); and Anne-Marie Beckmann (Curator, Art Collection Deutsche Börse, Germany). Brett Rogers, Director of The Photographers’ Gallery, is the non-voting Chair.

Brett Rogers, Chair of the Jury and Director of The Photographers’ Gallery, said: "The four finalists all manifest a sustained commitment to investigating the nature and role of the photographic image. Each of them, in their own way, explores pertinent ideas around gender, nationality, surveillance and political conflict. Donovan Wylie investigates the psychology of architecture through one of Ireland’s most oppressive institutions, the Maze prison; Zoe Leonard traverses photographic genres in her unique approach to urban anthropology; Anna Fox dissects the bizarre and the ordinary in British life; and Sophie Ristelhueber reveals the marks of history on the physical and human landscape."

Alexandra Hachmeister, Corporate Responsibility for Deutsche Börse, commented, "We are delighted to announce, with The Photographers’ Gallery, this year’s shortlist. Once again it features four exciting artists whose nominated works reflect the Deutsche Börse Photography Prize as a leading contemporary and international photography award. We are looking forward to presenting the exhibition later next year at C/O Berlin and in our headquarters in Frankfurt."

The Deutsche Börse Photography Prize continues to be one of the most prominent exhibitions at The Photographers’ Gallery and is amongst the most prestigious of the international arts awards. Deutsche Börse Group is one of the leading exchange organisations and a major sponsor of photographic art. The Group owns an extensive art collection of contemporary photography which, to date, includes more than 700 works by over sixty international artists. Further information on Deutsche Börse Group and its art collection can be found on the Deutsche Boerse website.

Explore More

RNLI Reveals 'My Coast' Photography Competition Shortlist

RNLI Reveal 'My Coast' Shortlisted Entries

The RNLI has revealed the ten shortlisted images from the 'M...

Event Photography Awards 2014 Winners

Event Photography Awards 2014 Winners Announced

2014's best event photography revealed at inaugural EPAs win...

Win A £50 Olympus Voucher With ePHOTOzine

Win A £50 Olympus Voucher

Enter our 'guess the photo location' competition for the cha...

Join ePHOTOzine and remove these ads.


There are no comments here! Be the first!
- Original Poster Comments
- Your Posts

Add a Comment

You must be a member to leave a comment

Remember me:
Un-tick this box if you want to login each time you visit.