Take your photography to the next level and beyond...

  • NEWS
  • REVIEWS
  • INSPIRATION
  • COMMUNITY
  • COMPETITIONS

Why not join for free today?

Join for Free

Your total photography experience starts here


New PortraitPro 12 SALE + 10% OFF code EPZROS814

Nikon D5100 Digital SLR Review

Nikon D5100 Digital SLR Review - Joshua Waller reviews the new Nikon D5100 Digital SLR - fresh design by Nikon enables a smaller body.

Exclusive to ePHOTOzine

 Add Comment

Category : Digital SLRs
Product : Nikon D5100
Price : £250
Rating :
Share :

Features
Handling
Performance
Verdict
Specification



The Nikon D5100 is a newly designed camera improving on the Full HD video of the D5000 and introducing a new horizontally swivelling 3inch screen, and a new more compact body, that is 10% smaller than the D5000. It also introduces a new "creative effects" mode with 6/7 new filters, as well as a built in "merge to HDR" function, much like the feature you may have used on a computer to merge two (or more) different exposures to create a "High Dynamic Range" photo. The D5100 does this all in camera using two shots to create a photo. The D5100 also features the 16.2 megapixel sensor as featured in the D7000. This means that you should get all the video quality from the D5000, the low noise image quality from the D7000, and as well as this 7 (or 8 if you include HDR) new shooting modes.

Of the new creative effects available, the "Night Vision" mode allows the camera to increase the ISO to a whopping ISO102400 enabling extremely low light photography, although, to acheive this, the camera has to switch to black and white mode, as the colour noise would degrade the image too much. (But once you get rid of the colour, you get an image that may be useful, whereas prior to this you may have got none).



Nikon D5100 with VR kit lens above, and swivel screen shown below.



Back of the camera



Nikon D5100 Features

  • 16.2 mp sensor, APS-C, DX series, same sensor as the D7000
  • Full HD video 1920x1080/30/25/24fps - upto 20 minutes per video
  • EXPEED 2 image processing
  • 3inch screen, 921k-dot (VGA resolution), horizontal vari-angle
  • Dust / airflow control sensor cleaning system
  • 7 creative effects, available in photo and video mode: Colour Sketch, Selective Colour, Miniature effect, Night Portrait, Silhouette, High Key, Low Key
  • Picture control system: Standard, Neutral, Vivid, Monochrome, Portrait, Landscape
  • Improved live view function, dedicated auto return lever
  • Faster AF in live view, several AF modes, face priority, subject tracking, scene auto
  • ISO100-3200, 6400, Hi.1 12800, Hi. 2 25600
  • HDMI CEC connection allows control of the camera with a remote
  • Interval timer shooting 

 

Effects in detail 

The D5100 introduces seven new creative effects, as well as a new HDR mode. These are JPEG only, and it does not record a RAW file at the same time as the effects modes. Here are some of the examples provided by Nikon.

Colour sketch HDR Miniature
Colour sketch HDR Miniature
Night Vision Selective Colour Silhouette
Night vision Selective Colour Silhouette
 
Creative Effects: Low key, High key, Miniature, Selective colour, Colour sketch, Silhouette, Night vision, and new HDR mode (combines two shots, upto +/- 3 EV). The silhouette mode removes detail from the subject. The colour sketch mode lets you change the colour and line density. Using the selective colour mode it's possible to select up to three colours, with the rest of the image appearing in black and white. Miniature - recreate tilt + shift lens effect in camera (pre-or post shooting)



How does the Nikon D5100 compare to the Nikon D3100? Here's a quick overview of both models, highlighting the main differences, with the highlighted green item being the best:

Nikon D5100 Nikon D3100
16.2mp CMOS 14.2mp CMOS
3.0 inch swivel screen, 921k pixel 3.0 inch screen, 230k pixel
4fps (RAW + JPEG) 3fps (RAW + JPEG)
11 point AF 11 point AF 
1080p, 30/25/24fps, 20min max 1080p 24fps video, 10min max
ISO100-6400, extendable to 25,600 and 104,200 ISO100-3200 extendable to 6400, 12,800
EXPEED 2 EXPEED 2
Pentamirror with 95% frame coverage and 0.78x magnification Pentamirror, 95% coverage, 0.95x magnification
? shot battery life 580 shot battery life
128 × 97 × 79 mm 124 x 96 x 74.5 mm
560g including battery and memory card 455g excluding battery and memory card
Flash guide number 12 / 13 with manual flash Flash guide number 12
£770 with VR kit lens £420 with VR kit lens

For more details see our Nikon D3100 Digital SLR review

While we are at it, I thought it would be worth comparing the Nikon D5100, Nikon's £660  camera, to Canon's £660 camera, the Canon EOS 660D, both aimed at the advanced amatuer with an interest in HD video:

Nikon D5100 Canon EOS 600D
16.2mp CMOS 18mp CMOS
3.0 inch swivel screen, 921k pixel 3.0 inch vari-angle screen, 1040k pixel
4fps (RAW + JPEG) 3.7fps (34 jpeg, 6 raw)
11 point AF 9 point AF 
1080p, 30/25/24fps, 20min max 1080p 30/25/24fps, 29min max
ISO100-6400, extendable to 25,600 and 104,200 ISO100-6400 extendable to 12,800
EXPEED 2 DIGIC4
Pentamirror, 95% coverage, 0.78x magnification Pentamirror, 95% coverage, 0.85x magnification
? shot battery life 440 shot battery life
128 × 97 × 79 mm 133.1 x 99.5 x 79.7 mm
560g including battery and memory card 570g including battery and memory card
Flash guide number 12 / 13 with manual flash Flash guide number 13
£770 with VR kit lens £660 with IS kit lens

For more details see our Canon EOS 600D Review.




Nikon D5100 Handling

There is a good sized hand grip, that feels very good, with an elastic rubber coating, it is very easy to hold onto the camera, even with larger lenses attached (or alternatively, when the lens is large enough, you hold the lens instead). The body is 10% smaller than D5000, and while this may not initially sound like much, when you see the cameras side by side, the difference is quite noticeable. The camera also has a 17% thinner TFT (in comparison to the D5000) making the camera seem rather compact for an enthusiast level camera, and makes the camera a good size for travelling without too much concern for luggage space.



A full array of connections on the side provide HDMI, External Microphone, USB, GPS connections. Very easy to access the live view mode thanks to the new auto-returning lever, much more intuitive than trying to locate a specific button in a sea of identical buttons. As you would expect the DSLR has a metal tripod mount, and there are a number of dedicated buttons on the camera including: Flash, Function (default timer button, can be customised to: self-timer, release mode, image quality, ISO, white balance, active d-lighting, HDR mode, +RAW, auto-bracketing), dedicated video recording, exposure, info, AE-L/AF-L, plus playback, zoom, delete, menu, and the i button.



The body feels solidly built, although it does not have as much rubber grip as the 600D. The camera is surprisingly compact after using the 600D, feels very portable thanks to the lightweight body, and compact dimensions.




With a built in orientation sensor, the camera automatically rotates the display when held vertically, although it doesn't do this for the menus:


Menus and Ease of Use

The built in menus are clearly laid out with each section notable from it's dominant colour, such as the green photo menus, blue playback, orange setup, red custom setting menu, purple retouch menus, plus recent settings. The playback editing options are particularly feature packed allowing most of the effects and more to be applied to photos taken.

The back display of the camera lets you change the majority of settings, such as ISO, WB, Flash, etc..., as the camera unfortunately does not feature shortcuts on the 4-way / direction pad, and again rather unfortunately the shortcut button to enter the menu is positioned near the optical viewfinder (the <i>) button, making it a little awkward to get into the options sometimes. It would be nice if you could simply press the middle OK button to enter the options as this is much closer to where you thumb naturally rests, and it often feels like you are stretching your thumb to reach the <i> button.

Overview of menus:

Playback Shooting Custom Settings
Setup Retouch Recent Settings

The retouch menu is worth highlighting as there is a large number of options available including: D-Lighting, Red-eye correction, Trim, Monochrome, Filter effects, Colour balance, Resize, Image overlay, RAW processing, Quick retouch, Straighten, Distortion control, Fisheye, Colour outline, Perspective control, Colour sketch, Miniature effect, Selective colour, and Movie editing.



Battery: The camera uses a Lithium Ion battery, model EN-EL14, and is the same battery as used in the Nikon D3100 and Nikon Coolpix P7000. I managed to get 484 shots on the first charge using live view quite a lot, and then over 500 shots when mostly just shooting, with less use of live view.

Speed: Here we've tested the 1100D and compared it to the 600D, to see if there is much difference in performance. We've also tested the camera in live view mode as this can dramatically affect focusing speed.

  Nikon D5100 Canon EOS 600D
Shutter response (SLR / Live) 0.1 / 0.5 0.1 / 0.1
Focus - wide, shutter response 0.5 0.2
Focus - telephoto, shutter response 0.7 0.25
Focus - live view (wide) 1.7 1.3-1.5*
Switch on time - taking photo 0.5-0.6 0.35
Shot to shot - without flash 0.6 0.4-0.5
Shot to shot - with flash 0.6 0.6-0.7
Continuous shooting - JPEG 4fps (28 shots^) 4fps
Continuous shooting - JPEG with Flash N/A 0.6-0.7 between shots
Continuous shooting - RAW 4fps (13 shots^) 3fps (6 shots)

Testing on JPEG, Review off, live view off, flash off, kit lens used, unless otherwise stated. Thankfully the shutter response is still very quick in live view mode even though the focusing is much slower.

4fps in JPEG or RAW shooting, good buffer size, from the RAW tests it looks as though the buffer size is around twice the size of the Canon's. Focus speed is around 1.2 seconds in live view, which is quicker than the Canon's focusing speed, however, the shutter reponse in live view is much slower at around 0.5 seconds. Focusing is also much slower than expected.

*These were the average results assuming the camera locked focus on the first attempt, if it failed, then it could easily add another second to the focusing time. Includes shutter response which in the case of the D5100 adds 0.5 seconds to the time it takes to take the photo. ^ before slow-down.




Nikon D5100 Performance

Thoresby Hall Thoresby Hall
Wide shot 18mm Full zoom 55mm

Exposure: This is never a problem, except when using low key, as this seems to predominantly underexpose images, without the facility to use exposure compensation. The camera seems more likely to over-expose by 1/3 rather than underexpose so it can occassionally be useful to dial in exposure compensation.

Liverpool Catholic Cathedral White Suzuki Swift
Liverpool Catholic Cathedral
ISO100, 1/400, f/10, 20mm
White Suzuki Swift
ISO100, 1/250, f/8, 55mm

Resolution: Resolution is very good, with high levels of detail and sharpness straight from camera, with very good JPEG output quality. The default settings, however, are slightly softer than I would have liked to see, this can easily be altered in camera by simply increasing the sharpness setting or later on the computer.

Dynamic range: Dynamic range is very good in photos, and DXOMark results for the D7000 sensor are among the very best. HDR mode, and Active D-Lighting (with several options: Off, Auto, Low, Mid, Strong, V Strong) can be very useful to help keep detail in bright skies or dark areas of images. 

Lime Street Station Common Sparrow
Lime Street Station at Night (Kit lens)
ISO1100, 1/30, f/5, 35mm
Sparrow, 28-300mm VR Lens, 300mm / 450mm equivalent, ISO200, 1/1250, f/5.6, 300mm

Focusing: Using the 18-55mm kit lens gives a very high success rate particularly when using the optical viewfinder. Using live view the success rate drops slightly depending on the subject being focused on. The actual chance of taking a blurred photo is reduced dramatically by the camera not allowing you to shoot when the focus fails. Thanksfully this is rare, However, this may occassionally frustrate you.

Noise: examples are shown below, click to view full size.

The camera ranges from ISO100 to ISO6400 and (Hi1) ISO12800, (Hi2) ISO25,600 are available in normal use, with upto ISO102,400 available in the Night Vision scene mode - this should enable shots to be taken at night of wildlife or in other situations where you simply would not have otherwise been able to get a photo without using flash, a tripod, or alternative lighting methods. The camera switches to black and white mode, and fine detail suffers as a result of high noise reduction. 

ISO100 ISO200 ISO400 ISO800
ISO100 ISO200 ISO400 ISO800
ISO1600 ISO3200 ISO6400 ISO Hi 1
ISO1600 ISO3200 ISO6400 Hi 1, ISO12800

Noise - Night Vision Mode: Click to view full size images.

ISO Hi 2 Hi 1.5 Hi 3.7 Hi 4
Normal mode Hi 2, ISO25600 Night Vision Hi 1.5
1/60, f/5.6, 52mm
Night Vision Hi 3.7
1/60, f/5.6, 52mm
Night Vision Hi 4
1/60, f/5.6, 52mm

Night vision switches to black and white, and alters the ISO setting automatically depending on lighting conditions, this allows you to take photos at quicker shutter speeds without having to revert to long exposures, a tripod, or other steadying methods. The AF illuminator is disabled (to avoid scaring the subject), and this can cause focusing problem, for example Hi 4 (ISO102400) was so dark that live view focus failed, and manual focus was required.

White Balance results - tested under incandescent lighting and fluorescent lighting, using the auto white balance, and white balance presets, click to view full size:

AWB - Tungsten Tungsten Preset
Auto White Balance - Tungsten Tungsten Preset - Tungsten Light
AWB Fluorescent Preset - Cool White Fluorescent
Auto White Balance - Fluorescent Cool White Fluorescent Preset - Fluoresent

The camera does a good job using Auto White Balance, and 95% of the time you shouldn't need to switch from auto to a preset white balanace mode. Under tungsten lighting, the tungsten preset produced more natural looking colours, and the fluorescent preset mode has a variety of different options (sodium-vapour, warm-white, white, cool-white, day white, daylight, and high temperature mercury vapour), with the "Cool White Fluorescent" preset producing the best results under our lighting.

Creative effects In Detail: click to view full size images.

Miniature Selective Colour Bluebells
Miniature
ISO100, 1/200, f/13, 55mm
Selective Colour Bluebells (Purple)

Miniature effect: the size, and horizontal or vertical position can be altered, and gives a live preview of the effect in action. the live view frame rate drops and can become quite slow occassionally making framing more difficult.

Selective Colour: like the feature see on compact Canon cameras, this lets you choose a colour to keep, while the rest of the scene is in black and white. The D5100 system is a little more intelligent as it allows you to choose three colours, and adjust the sensitivity of the colour selection from 1 to 7. This lets you choose a specific red colour, and extend it to cover a wider range of red tones. 

Lotus Cortina Selective Colour Selective Colour Aston Martin
Selective Colour (Reds and Orange) Selective Colour (Red)

More selective colour

Selective Colour Selective Colour
Selective Colour Dandelions (Yellow)
ISO250, 1/500, f/5.6, 250mm
3 colours selected (Yellow, Red, Blue)

Low-key: This has been a feature on Olympus SLRs / Pen cameras for a LONG time and it's nice to see it introduced to Nikon cameras, however it can cause under-exposure especially as it's not possible to alter the exposure compensation in this mode. Low key can be used for some very nice effects (without over-exposure).

Low key Low key
Low-key Lamborghini Wheel Low-key Engine

High-key: As above, this can be used to create pleasingly bright images, although without being able to change the exposure compensation, the subject often has to be right to avoid over-exposure.

High key High key
High key Bronze Sculpture at Cass Sculpture. High key blossom

Colour sketch: colour sketch is available in photo mode, while colour sketch and colour outline are available in playback editing. The colour sketch is an interesting feature, that gives the image an almost cartoon sketched style, however it can be quite difficult to find situations or subjects that benefit from this effect.

Grapes - Colour sketch Colour sketch
Colour sketch (mid settings) Colour sketch (high settings), Cass Sculpture.

Silhouette: this is designed to darken and remove detail from subjects - although it can be difficult to find suitable subjects to shoot in normal shooting conditions. Under the right circumstances such as on a beach or in bright lighting this can be a useful feature to have. 

Night Vision: One could image this feature being used by police in surveillance, for example to get registration plates from cars at night or to take photos of peoples faces. The best feature of this, is the ability to take photos at higher shutter speeds, and still get results in very low light. The mode can also be used in videos, so it could create some interesting night life videos.

It would be nice to have the option to keep the original photos, in case these features and options don't perform as you were expecting, as occassionally it is difficult to see on screen whether you have got the shot as you intended, particularly when shooting outdoors in bright sunlight.

Macro HDR
Macro (with studio flash) Thoresby Hall - In camera HDR

In camera HDR creation is a new feature introduced with the Nikon D5100, although it is not available on a specific mode dial or effect mode, instead it is an option in the menu. This combines two shots, you can select AUTO, or manually select the amount of exposure compensation from +/-1, through +/- 2, upto +/- 3 EV. This again is not available when shooting in RAW mode, and you instead need to make sure you are shooting in JPEG mode in order for this to be available.

Macro: click to view full size images.

Lamborghini Calipers Ferrari Engine
Lamborghini Brake Calipers Ferrari 360 Modena Engine

The 18-55mm kit lens is surprisingly capable at macro photographs, when used at full optical zoom, with the camera focusing with subject close to the lens.

Video

The camera features a dedicated video record button, accessible regardless of the mode dial position, meaning you can apply creative effects to videos for example. Offering Full HD at 30/25/24fps covers all potential uses including use in the US (NTSC), UK (PAL), and film industry (24fps). Videos are recorded in the H.264 MOV file format (instead of M-JPEG on D5000), and lower resolutions, such as 720p are also available. The effects should be available without any noticeable effect on fps, however the miniature and colour sketch modes appeared to slow video frame rate.


Value for Money: The Nikon D5100 offers very good value for money, with the nearest competitors being the Canon EOS 600D, at £739 with IS kit lens. Compared to the Canon 600D, the 600D offers better value for money, and a higher resolution sensor, although lacks some of the more creative effects, and built in HDR modes. The cheapest Digital SLR with full HD video is the Nikon D3100. Other cameras that feature full HD include the Pentax K-5, although it is considerably more expensive, but comes with weather sealing. The Sony Alpha a33 and a55 both offer full HD video, and high speed shooting, although lack an optical viewfinder. Panasonic offers the GH2 with full HD video, and is priced at around £833 with 14-42mm kit lens and is one of the smaller SLRs available thanks to the lack of optical viewfinder.

DxOMark provides objective, independent, RAW-based image quality performance data for lenses and digital cameras to help you select the best equipment to meet your photographic needs.

Visit the DxOMark website for tests performed on the Nikon D5100 Digital SLR.

 

Nikon D5100 Digital SLR Verdict

The Nikon D5100 builds on the success of the D3100, with Full HD, swivel screen, and creative effect modes. The camera also appears to out-perform the Canon EOS 600D in a number of areas such as more focus points, HDR mode, quicker continuous shooting, and deeper buffer allowing more shots before slow down. However in a number of areas, the Canon 600D outperforms the D5100, with a higher resolution sensor, and screen, as well as increased area of rubber grip.

The D5100 features the well known and well respected 16 megapixel CMOS sensor from the Nikon D7000, and offers excellent low light, low noise photography and excellent dynamic range, further enhanced with Active D-lighting, and built in HDR mode. 

Handling is very good, however it would be great if there was an option to customise the d-pad to allow quicker access to the options, such as ISO, WB, so that you don't have to always look at the screen to see what options you are changing. 

The Nikon D5100 scores very highly in features, image quality, and offers good value for money in the market, particularly with a 2 year warranty. The D5100 is feature packed with some previously unseen features and modes, such as night vision, and built in HDR merge. This camera should be number one on your shopping list, as it makes an excellent Digital SLR. Buy it, buy it now! 

The Nikon D5100 is a great digital SLR that provides excellent image quality, design and features, including full HD video.

Nikon D5100 Pros

Nikon D5100 Excellent video quality
Nikon D5100 16.2 megapixel sensor, excellent detail
Nikon D5100 Excellent ISO performance
Nikon D5100 Night vision mode - very useful
Nikon D5100 Great swivel screen
Nikon D5100 Quite good value for money
Nikon D5100 Great image quality
Nikon D5100 Compact, stylish design
Nikon D5100 2 year warranty

Nikon D5100 Cons

Nikon D5100 Quicker access to options could be provided
Nikon D5100 Live view frame rate drops when using some of the effects
Nikon D5100 RAW not available when using effects or HDR mode
Nikon D5100 Slower than expected focusing speed
Nikon D5100 Slow shutter response in live view

FEATURES
HANDLING
PERFORMANCE
VALUE FOR MONEY
OVERALL

If you have any questions or want any features tested, please leave a comment in the forums.

Nikon D5100 Specifications


Price £669 body only, 18-55VR Kit - £779.99, available 21/APR/2011
Contact www.nikon.co.uk
Viewfinder Pentamirror with 95% frame coverage and 0.78x magnification
Resolution 16.2 million pixels
Sensor size DX APS-C
Sensor type CMOS sensor
Max. Image size 4928 x 3264
Aspect ratio 3:2
Monitor 7.5-cm, approx. 921k-dot (VGA), Vari-angle TFT LCD with 170° viewing angle, approx. 100% frame coverage
Shutter speed 1/4000 to 30 s in steps of 1/3 or 1/2 EV; Bulb; Time (requires optional Remote Control ML-L3)
Focusing system Nikon Multi-CAM 1000 autofocus sensor module with TTL phase detection, 11 focus points
Focusing modes Single-point AF, dynamic-area AF, auto-area AF, 3D-tracking (11 points), Autofocus (AF): Single-servo AF (AF-S); Continuous-servo AF (AF-C); Manual focus (MF)
Exposure Compensation –5 to +5 EV in increments of 1/3 or 1/2 EV
File types NEF (RAW): 14 bit, compressed; JPEG: fine, normal or basic; NEF + JPEG, MOV; H.264/MPEG-4 Advanced Video Coding
ISO sensitivity ISO 100 - 6400, Hi1, Hi2 (25.600 equivalent) in steps of 1/3 EV
Exposure Metering  TTL exposure metering using 420-pixel RGB sensor
Metering Method Matrix, Center-weighted, Spot
Continuous 4.0 frames per second
Exposure Modes Auto, Auto Flash off, Scene Modes: Portrait, Landscape, Child, Sports, Close up, Night portrait, Night landscape, Party/indoor, Beach/snow, Sunset, Dusk/dawn, Pet portrait, Candlelight, Blossom, Autumn colours, Food; Programmed auto (P), Shutter-priority auto (S), Aperture priority auto (A), Manual (M)
Movie mode 1,920 × 1,080, 30p/25p/24p, H high/normal; 1,280 × 720, 30p/25p/24p, H high/normal; 640 × 424, 30p/25p, H high/normal, Mono microphone built in.
Media type SD / SDHC / SDXC
Interface Hi-Speed USB; Video output: NTSC, PAL; HDMI output: Type C mini-pin HDMI connector; Accessory terminal: Remote Cord MC-DC2 (available separately), GPS Unit GP-1 (available separately); Audio input: Stereo mini-pin jack (3.5-mm diameter)
Power One Rechargeable Li-ion Battery EN-EL14, AC Adapter EH-5a/5b; requires Power Connector EP-5A (available separately)
Box Contents Camera, Rechargeable Li-ion Battery EN-EL14, Battery Charger MH-24, Eyepiece Cap DK-5, Rubber Eyecup DK-20, USB Cable UC-E6, Audio Video Cable EG-CP14, Camera Strap, AN-DC3, Body Cap BF-1B, Accessory Shoe Cover BS-1, ViewNX 2 CD-ROM
Size Approx. 128 × 97 × 79 mm
Weight approx. 560 g with battery and memory card

Explore More

Photographs taken using the Nikon D5100

Last one home !!SquareBronte BridgeMaster of all he surveys...IlluminationFlower in colorFlower monoFlower 3Countryside GrowthFeeding the retail monsterAh, sweet nectar...*** Castle Howard ***butterflyThe Face of Rhino ProtectionMucille lake
Join ePHOTOzine and remove these ads.

Comments


PhotoMorph 6 12 1 United Kingdom
21 Apr 2011 9:05AM
Excellent review, but its not helping me make a decision any quicker! i think i'm still going to go with the Canon Eos 60D, i know they're not in the same group, but i'm just trying to keep my options open.

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

joshwa e2
3 600 United Kingdom
21 Apr 2011 9:27AM
Thanks - How could I have further helped you make the decision? Is there anything in the review that you think is missing? (I know it's a tough choice though) Perhaps the best way to help you decide is to try them out in your hand to see which feels best for you? Smile
quark 3 11 Romania
21 Apr 2011 12:41PM
The selective color, really is cool !
PhotoMorph 6 12 1 United Kingdom
21 Apr 2011 4:57PM
Joshwa, it was not a criticism, i was pointing out your excellent review had changed my mind that i had made up only hours previously, generally it's just me struggling to make my mind up.
I have been with Canon for so long i just don't know what to do, up until last night i was going to buy the Canon 60D, then i read your review and thought about the D5100, i've been slightly unhappy with my 450D's performance and with canon images in general and have been thinking of changing to Nikon for some time, i went to my local dealer and looked at the D5100 and i was very impressed and now think i'm going to make the move, can you compare the D5100 against the 60D, is this a fair test i wonder, never the less my dealer thinks image quality may exceed the 60D, the Nikon lenses definately feel tighter and more solid than my Canon lenses and generally the camera had a much better feel to it.
My next problem is going to be purchasing, my dealer has been fantastic and spent a lot of time going through it all with me, hes charging 779 with kit lens but Cheetah Express are charging 659 the only difference is that it requires a usa to uk adapter, it ships from uk, although it probably is an import, but i am told it a 2 year warranty with Nikon, any thoughts on this would be helpful
22 Apr 2011 9:16PM
As an enthusiastic amateur looking to move into wedding photography, christenings etc, do you think this camera would fit the bill? I had been eying up the Nikon D90 but this review has me thinking..........
PhotoMorph 6 12 1 United Kingdom
23 Apr 2011 10:58PM
I finally went with 60D, and very impressed, review almost had me buying one though, the power of words! or am i easily led!
BobEH 9 14 United Kingdom
24 Apr 2011 10:31PM
As an existing Nikon D90 User, I am considering this camera. (Lightweight etc). However my gripe with the D90 is there is no mirror up facility (useful at mid range ie 1/4 sec exposures) and I have experienced unsharpness because of this. The mirror goes up on live view, but flips down again on taking a picture. Does the D5100 do the same or have things improved at Nikon. Otherwise it may have to be a Canon.
TBKB 3
25 Apr 2011 3:34PM
Hi, have been seriously considering a D5100 but does anyone know if it can be tethered to a laptop, believe the D3100 couldnt.
8 May 2011 8:14PM
Hello,
In Colour sketch what do you mean by (high settings)? Browsing through the menu I don't see where you could change anything in there Sad

Thanks.
9 May 2011 1:27AM
Random i know, but i was just going through google, and realised that you took a picture of my swift. I am utterely flattered.!!!
no_rules12@hotmail.com
Tarakesh 3 1 India
14 Jul 2011 3:40PM
Sir, Hats off to your excellent detailed review.
I'm an enthusiast considering Nikon D5100 and Canon EOS 550D as they are priced similarly. However, I'm really unable to settle down with either of themGrin. Could you please let me know the best option according to you and if possible please post a comparison of both.
I would want Excellent Image Quality, Accurate color reproduction, consistent performance in all lighting conditions. Mainly, choice of lenses with a strong orientation on low price...
550D has a depth of field button - How far this button is useful.
Nikon has no dedicated ISO button - How often does a beginner or an enthusiast get to change the ISO?
Please solve my dilemma.. People say Canon's colors are best.. Nikon's user interface isn't so good...
lindamay 5 2 England
8 Sep 2011 1:35PM
I have recently purchased a D5100 and I love it. The only slight problem I have encountered is that the NEF files are not compatible with Photoshop CS4. I had a mild panic and then downloaded an Adobe converter - DNG - phew it worked. My naivety that I did not check before hand.
gary.d 12 134 United Kingdom
6 Jun 2012 2:58PM
I bought one of these solely for shooting 360s. While the image quality is great the handling is a bit clunky, having to go into menus to select things that have buttons on other cameras. So be it. But THE biggest annoyance is having the info screen deactivate when you attach a remote cord!
CaseyS 2
12 Jul 2012 2:45PM
To start out, awesome review! I have owned this camera for a year and just found out some things that it will do. Thank you. I was wondering if any owners of this camera have had any problems with it working? I am curious to see the responses.

Sign In

You must be a member to leave a comment.

ePHOTOzine, the web's friendliest photography community.

Join For Free

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more.