Take your photography to the next level and beyond...

  • NEWS
  • REVIEWS
  • INSPIRATION
  • COMMUNITY
  • COMPETITIONS

Why not join for free today?

Join for Free

Your total photography experience starts here


Nikon D7100 vs D7000 DSLR Comparison Review

Nikon D7100 vs D7000 DSLR Comparison Review - We compare the new Nikon D7100 against the previous version, the Nikon D7000, and find out if it's capable of delivering a noticeable improvement?

 Add Comment

Category : Digital SLRs
Product : Nikon D7100
Price : £809
Share :

Features
Performance
Verdict
Specifications
Nikon D7000 Vs D7100 Front Direct Side By Side1

The Nikon D7000 was Nikon's high end 16.2 megapixel DX (APS-C) sensor Digital SLR with high speed shooting at 6fps, weather sealing and magnesium body, making it a great choice for anyone looking to take high speed shots or outdoor photographs. The Nikon D7000 scored extremely well in our full D7000 review here back in 2010, where it's professional level features impressed. With such an impressive camera, can an upgraded version deliver the improvements you are looking for?

Nikon D7000 Vs D7100 Rear Side By Side1

This year, Nikon announced the updated version of the D7000, the Nikon D7100, with a new 24.1 megapixel DX (APS-C) sensor, which Nikon say should give similar levels of noise performance despite the increase in pixel density. Another improvement employed by Nikon is the removal, or rather lack of the optical low pass filter (anti-aliasing filter) in the D7100 which should deliver the highest resolution possible.

Other noticeable updates include a high resolution 3.2 inch screen with 1229k dots, and the rear of the Nikon D7100 looks cleaner in design than the D7100, with a larger rubber grip as well as a new i button to give quicker access to controls on the rear screen. For those who are thinking of stepping up from the Nikon D7000, the layout of the majority of controls has stayed the same, meaning the D7100 should feel at home. Below you'll find a summary of the key differences between the two models.

Nikon D7000 vs D7100 Key Features Compared


Nikon D7000 DSLR Nikon D7100 DSLR
Launched 2010 Launched 2013
16.2 megapixel sensor 24.1 megapixel sensor
3inch 921k dots 3.2inch 1229k dots
39 focus points 51 focus points
100% viewfinder frame coverage Same
0.95% viewfinder magnification 0.94% viewfinder magnification
ISO100-25600 Same
6fps Same
20 min video limit, Full HD, 24fps 20 minutes at highest quality, 29min 59sec at normal quality, Full HD, 30/25/24fps
Mono mic Stereo mic built in
Mic socket Mic socket, headphone socket
GP-1 compatible GP-1 / GP-1A compatible
690g 675g body only
132x103x77mm 135.5x106.5x76mm

In addition, the Nikon D7100 has a relocated video button on top, a headphone socket, locking mode dial, the new i button, and improved thumb grip.

Nikon D7000 vs D7100 Performance

Additional sample photos and product shots from the Nikon D7100 and the D7000, are available in the Equipment Database, where you can add your own review, photos and product ratings.

Nikon D7000 ISO test images


Nikon D7100 ISO test images


The D7000 and D7100 have the same ISO range of ISO100 to ISO25600, with the same size sensor, and more pixels on the D7100, logic would assume that the D7100 should show higher noise levels.

ISO performance from both cameras is very similar, with the Nikon D7100 showing slightly less chroma noise (red, green, blue dots), and cleaner images at ISO12800, where the D7000 struggles to keep hot pixels under control. A similar effect can be seen at ISO25600, where the D7000 shows additional hot pixels and random splotches of noise, making the D7100 images look even more impressive.

Nikon D7000 White-balance test images


Nikon D7100 White-balance test images



White balance performance from both cameras is similar under tungsten lighting, whether shooting using Auto White Balance (AWB) or the tungsten preset. Under fluorescent lighting, there is a better result from AWB on the Nikon D7100, and using the fluorescent preset gives a better result with the D7100 as well.

Nikon D7000 vs D7100 Verdict

The Nikon D7100 isn't just an upgrade in terms of additional megapixels crammed into the sensor, but the removal of the optical low pass filter means that with the correct technique, you should be able to take the sharpest and most detailed images possible from an APS-C Nikon camera. As we found out in our Nikon D800 vs Nikon D800E review, with increased detail possible, correct technique becomes even more important. 

For some it would have been nice to see an increased continuous shooting speed, however there are enough upgrades included in the D7100 to make it worth serious thought, even if you do have a D7000 currently. Updates including an increased number of focus points, an improved screen, full HD video at 30/25/24fps and stereo sound recording, as well as improved design, make the D7100 an impressive Digital SLR and one that's well worth investing money and time in, particularly as the Nikon D7100 could take you to your next level of photography.

Read our full Nikon D7000 DSLR Review
View Nikon D7100 DSLR Sample Photos


Comparison Table

Nikon D7000Nikon D7100
ManufacturerNikonNikon
Lens
Effective Magnification1.5x1.5x
Image Sensor
CCD pixels16.2Mp (Megapixels)24.1Mp (Megapixels)
Pixels (W)49286000
Pixels (H)32644000
Sensor TypeCMOSCMOS
Sensor SizeAPS-CAPS-C
Sensor Size (width)23.6mm23.5mm
Sensor Size (height)15.6mm15.6mm
Aspect Ratio
  • 3:2
  • 3:2
LCD Monitor
LCD Monitor3in3.2in
Screen resolution921k dot1229k dots
Touch ScreenNoNo
Focusing
Focusing modes
  • Autofocus
  • AF Fine Tuning
  • Manual
  • Spot
  • Face Detection
  • Multi
  • Centre
  • AF Tracking
  • Autofocus
  • Manual
  • Spot
  • AF Tracking
  • Multi
  • Centre
  • AF Fine Tuning
  • Face Detection
Exposure Control
Shutter speeds shortest1/8000sec1/8000sec
Shutter speeds longest30sec30sec
Exp modes
  • Program
  • Aperture-Priority
  • Shutter-Priority
  • Manual
  • Scene modes
  • Program Variable
  • Program
  • Aperture-Priority
  • Shutter-Priority
  • Manual
  • Scene modes
  • Program Variable
Metering
  • Multi Pattern
  • Spot
  • Centre-weighted - Average
  • Centre-weighted - Average
  • Multi Pattern
  • Spot
ISO sensitivity100 - 25600100 - 25600
White balance
  • Auto
  • Manual
  • Bracket
  • Outdoors/Daylight
  • Cloudy
  • Incandescent
  • Fluorescent
  • Shade
  • Flash
  • Auto
  • Manual
  • Bracket
  • Outdoors/Daylight
  • Cloudy
  • Incandescent
  • Fluorescent
  • Shade
  • Flash
Exposure Comp+/-5+/-5
Shooting Options
Continuous shooting6fps6fps
Video
Movie modeYesYes
Video Resolution
  • 1920x1080
  • 1280x720 720p
  • 1920x1080
  • 1280x720 720p
Video FPS24fps, 720p 30fps30/25/24p
Stereo SoundNoYes
Optical Zoom with VideoYesYes
Other Features
Image StabilisationNoNo
Interface
HDMIYesYes
USBUSB 2USB 2
Storage
Card Type
  • SD
  • SDHC
  • SDXC
  • SD
  • SDHC
  • SDXC
File Type
  • JPG
  • RAW
  • RAW + JPG
  • RAW
  • JPG
  • RAW + JPG
Power Source
Battery TypeLithium Ion EN-EL15Lithium Ion EN-EL15
CIPA Rating1050950
Box Contents
Box ContentsEN-EL15 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery, MH-25 QuickCharger, DK-5 Eyepiece Cap, DK-21 Rubber Eyecup, UC-E4 USB Cable, EG-D2 Audio Video Cable, BM-11 LCD Monitor Cover, BF-1B Body Cap, BS-1 Accessory Shoe Cover, ViewNX 2 CD-ROMEN-EL15 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery, MH-25 Quick Charger, UC-E6 USB Cable, AN-DC1 Strap, DK-5 Eyepiece Cap, DK-23 Rubber Eyecup, BF-1B Body Cap, BS-1 Accessory Shoe Cap, NikonView NX2 CD ROM
Dimensions
Weight690g675g
Width132mm135.5mm
Height105mm106.5mm
Depth77mm76mm
View Full DetailsView Full Details

Explore More

Photographs taken using the Nikon D7100

Shimla 28The Wok PlayerMale RedstartThe Scottish Parliamentrebel gentThe end of the dayVictor the Polar BearRobinLayersA CURE FOR ALL THAT AILSCommon BlueThe FarmBlue ChromeBella`s succulentThe Umbrella Lady, Mirepoix Market
Join ePHOTOzine and remove these ads.

Comments


27 Mar 2013 6:07PM
Wouldn't it make more sense to move from a D7000 to the D600 and get the full frame sensor?

I think it would be good to compare the D7100 to the D600.

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

27 Mar 2013 8:47PM
I would like to upgrade my D300 but as an amateur would the D7100 suit me more than a D600?

Perhaps i'ii keep the 300 and get some quality glass!
Tord 1 Sweden
4 Apr 2013 9:53AM
The table says that the D7000's shutter speed, at its shortest is 30 sec, and at its longest 8000 - the latter is impressive, but the former quite unusual Wink!

When it comes to choosing the D7100 over D600, or the other way round, if money is no object, I'd say dynamic range, and bulk/weight. If dynamic range is important, and you don't mind the extra bulk, go for the D600, otherwise, I'd say go for the D7100!

i have personally found that the weight of the D600 coupled with big lenses, like the Sigma 150-500, a bit too much, so I use my D600 with my 85, 50 & 28, with excellent results, and use the longer, heavier stuff on my V1 - works like a dream!
joshwa e2
3 600 United Kingdom
1 May 2013 10:56PM
Thanks we've updated the specifications, also thanks for the useful comments.
ardo 6 Canada
7 Oct 2013 3:53PM
Hi
Tord says it all. The only two bad points about the D600 are:
1- its 39 points AF, the same that is used on the 3 years old D7000. A few people reported, that FX cameras are less affected by the inaccuracy of the 39 point AF system.

2- Premature oïl stains on the sensor reported by many owners.

Aditionnal comments:
My D7100 is starting to show oïl stains after 5k shots......, when I take shots at F22 and increase contrast and decrease the highlights. So far it does not really affect my normal shots at F16. Testing my two other Nikon D90-D7000 show also similar results with the D7000 (heavily used) beeing the dirtiest. After having said that , I am not sure if all the d-slr cameras were tested in a similar manner they would not show similar results. I wet cleaned them with dust-aid and had a near perfect cleanup on the D90 and only average on the D7000. Its a fact of life that sensors with mirror mechanisms get dirty after a while by all kinds of contaminants. Learning to clean them becomes mandatory
Regards
Luc
12 Nov 2013 1:55AM
Thinking about tge d7100 a lot, a possible purchase is on the horizon, really fancy the sigma 10-20mm too but not sure about which one, the 3.5 or the 4.5. Decisions decisions.

Sign In

You must be a member to leave a comment.

ePHOTOzine, the web's friendliest photography community.

Join For Free

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more.