Take your photography to the next level and beyond...

  • NEWS
  • REVIEWS
  • INSPIRATION
  • COMMUNITY
  • COMPETITIONS

Why not join for free today?

Join for Free

Your total photography experience starts here


Panasonic Lumix DMC-GH3 Review

Panasonic Lumix DMC-GH3 Review - We review the premium Panasonic Lumix GH3, the high-end Micro Four Thirds camera from Panasonic with a weather sealed body and multitude of video settings.

Exclusive to ePHOTOzine

 Add Comment

Category : Mirrorless Interchangeable Lens Camera
Product : Panasonic Lumix DMC-GH3
Price : £599
Rating :
Share :

Features
Handling
Performance
Verdict
Specification

Panasonic Lumix Dmc Gh3 (3)

The Panasonic Lumix GH3 is Panasonic's flagship Micro Four Thirds camera, updating the Panasonic Lumix GH2, and with weather sealing and an SLR like styling, Panasonic are keen to emphasis this is a new DSLM (Digital - Single - Lens - Mirrorless) Camera, rather than just a "Mirrorless" camera. They will even sell you a £250 vertical battery grip with the camera that also includes weather sealing to match the body.

Panasonic Lumix GH3 Features

Panasonic Lumix Dmc Gh3 (4)

The Panasonic Lumix GH3 has had a number of upgrades compared to the predecessor, with a new sensor, weather sealed body, and greatly improved video features. The Panasonic Lumix GH2 has been popular with videographers, and the GH3 aims to expand on that with a wide variety of options and shooting modes, as well as microphone socket, headphone socket, and full uncompressed HDMI out. The camera also features a number of photo-centric upgrades, including HDR, multi-exposure, flash sync cable socket, expanded ISO range and more.

Panasonic Lumix Dmc Gh3 (7)

Key Features

  • 16 megapixel Live MOS Sensor
  • 3 inch OLED 614k dot touch screen
  • Swivelling / Rotating to face front
  • 6fps continuous shooting
  • Full HD, 72/50mbps, AVCHD, MOV, MP4
  • Stereo mics, mic socket, headphone socket
  • ISO200-25600 (extended to 125)
  • 1.744 million dot EVF
  • HDR shooting, Multi-exposure
  • Wi-Fi built in

Panasonic Lumix GH3 Handling

Panasonic Lumix Dmc Gh3 (9)

Handling - The Panasonic Lumix GH3 feels like a substantial upgrade over the GH2 with a larger weather sealed body, it feels even more like a mini-Digital SLR than previous models. The camera controls are neatly designed with the WB/ISO/EV buttons just behind the shutter release, making it easy to change these settings.

The handling is improved with a comfortable rubber grip for your right hand, and the left side of the body also features a rubber coating for added grip. There are now three control dials, with one at the front, one at the back, and the wheel surrounding the Menu/OK button counting as the third. The camera features a new quieter shutter, as well as a selectable electronic shutter and the camera will shoot at 6fps.

Built in Wi-Fi enables quick sharing of images, and when tethered to a smartphone it's possible to Geotag the images. The body of the camera features 5 function buttons, as well as a further 2 function buttons that can be customised on the touch-screen, giving a total of 7 customisable function buttons.

Panasonic Lumix Dmc Gh3 (6)

The GH3 features a completely new 16 megapixel sensor, as well as a new 1.744 million dot electronic OLED viewfinder, that uses an RGBG array for better performance as well as a 1000:1 contrast ratio. The new 3 inch touch screen is also an OLED unit, and has greatly improved viewing angles.

The EVF on the GH3 has a high contrast level, and is slightly wider than 4:3 aspect ratio - looking more like 16:9, meaning that the photo doesn't fill the full frame, unless you switch to 16:9 aspect ratio. The screen on the back is a 3:2 aspect ratio, so again 4:3 (standard) photos don't fill the whole screen unless you shoot 3:2 photos.


Menus – The Panasonic menus are clearly laid out into separate areas, including record, video, custom, setup and playback. With the touchscreen it's possible to control the menus as well as the control panel on the back of the screen, making it very easy to change settings if needed. There are a large number of external controls so a lot of the time you simply don't need to enter the menus. Built in help can be switched on and off to help guide you through the menu options.

Panasonic Lumix Dmc Gh3 (10)

Battery life - Battery life is rated at 540 shots according to Leica / CIPA test results, we were able to take over 500 shots before the battery went flat. The camera features a new battery for extended shooting, and the use of the vertical grip will enable up to 1100 shots. The battery cover is lockable, providing extra protection to the battery so it's unlikely to accidentally fall out.

Panasonic Lumix Dmc Gh3 (12)

Speed - We took a number of shots to test the camera's responsiveness, from switch on to first photo, shot to shot, focusing speed etc. We take a number of shots and then use the average to ensure accurate and consistent tests, making it easy to compare with other cameras.


Panasonic Lumix GH3
Sony RX100
Shutter Response
0.05 0.0
Wide - Focus / Shutter Response 0.2-0.25 0.3
Full zoom - Focus / Shutter Response
0.2-0.25 0.3
Switch on Time to Taking a Photo 0.9 2.2
Shot to Shot without Flash 0.5 0.9
Shot to Shot with Flash 1.2 2.1
Continuous Shooting
(shots before slow down)
6fps (25 shots) 7fps (speed priority mode, 15 shots)
Continuous Shooting - Flash N/A 1.6s
Continuous Shooting - RAW 5fps (18 shots) 4fps (13 shots)

Shutter response is very good, and focus speed is excellent at both the wide and telephoto ends of the lens. The camera has a quick switch on time, and shot to shot is very good. It will also shoot at 6fps for up to 25 shots before slowdown, and at 5fps when shooting RAW for up to 18 shots before slowdown.

Panasonic Lumix GH3 Performance

Additional sample photos and product shots are available in the Equipment Database, where you can add your own review, photos and product ratings.

Panasonic Lumix DMC-GH3 Sample Photos


Sample Photos - Flash performance is good with very little to no red-eye visible in our flash photos. The camera has saturated colours, although has a slight tendency to under-expose images, so occasionally better results are possible with +0.3 or +0.7 exposure compensation.

Panasonic Lumix DMC-GH3 Lens test images


Lens Performance - The camera adds an HDR mode, this combines three shots into one in the camera, and a clever feature is that it will allow you to continue shooting while it is still processing the HDR merge, although unfortunately it doesn't save the RAW images when you shoot HDR photos. The camera has built in chromatic aberration correction so purple fringing is very well controlled. Another option is called shading compensation and this will automatically correct vignetting to remove dark corners. Macro performance is good with the 14-140mm lens, or alternatively a dedicated macro lens can provide excellent results as shown.

Panasonic Lumix DMC-GH3 ISO test images


ISO Noise Performance - ISO125, ISO200, ISO400, and ISO800, show low noise, with excellent detail (there is a hint of chroma noise as the ISO setting increases), but colour remains quite clean and noise free. ISO1600, noise starts to appear in blocks of colour, but detail remains good, and even at ISO3200 and ISO6400 there is detail showing in the image. In comparison, the G5, and GH2 show noticeably worse noise levels at ISO3200 and ISO6400 with much less detail retained at these high ISO settings.

Panasonic Lumix DMC-GH3 White-balance test images


White Balance Performance - Auto White Balance (AWB) - under tungsten light the results were noticeably warm, and using the tungsten preset did little to improve this. AWB performs extremely well under fluorescent lighting, and the camera doesn't have a fluorescent preset, so instead we've used manual white balance for the last shot.

Panasonic Lumix DMC-GH3 Digital filters


Digital Filters - The camera has a number of new digital filters and colour effects - including Low-key, High-key, Sepia, Dynamic Mono, Impressive Art, High Dynamic, Cross Process, Toy, Expressive, Soft, Retro, Star, Colour select and Miniature. There are a number of colour styles available, these can be customised, letting you set the contrast, sharpness, saturation, and noise reduction level. The GH3 doesn't feature a panoramic mode.

Video - The Panasonic Lumix GH3 has a vast array of video shooting options, including Full HD 60p / 50p / 25p / 24p, 50MBps / 72MBps data rate, MOV (Quicktime), MP4, AVCHD 1.0p / 1.1i recording, HDMI out to another device, Microphone socket, Headphone socket and time-coding to name a few. Video quality is very good, and the camera lets you manually select ISO125 to ISO6400 for videos. The microphone has 19 levels of adjustment, as well as wind cut settings of: Auto, Low, Standard, High, and Off.


We've recorded a number of videos with the GH3, they can be viewed on the ePHOTOzine YouTube channelLow Light Video, Low Light Handheld, EX-Tele-Convertor, Panning outdoors.

Lenses available: The Micro Four Thirds system has the widest range of lenses available out of all of the compact system cameras available with a number of lenses available from Olympus, Panasonic, Sigma, Tokina, Voigtlander, Samyang and other thirds party manufacturers such as Yasuhara, SLR-Magic, and others. Further details of the lenses available can be found on the Micro Four Thirds site.

Value For Money

The Panasonic Lumix GH3 is due to be available in November, priced at £1549 body only, £2099 with 14-140mm lens, or £2299 with the 12-35mm X VARIO f/2.8 lens, although these are Panasonic e-Shop prices, so the price may change when it becomes available. The battery grip will be £250, while the 35-100mm X VARIO lens will be roughly £1000-£1100.

Alternative premium mirrorless cameras include the Olympus OM-D E-M5 (9fps, around £999 body only), Sony NEX-7 (10fps, 24.3mp, around £839 body only), Samsung NX20 (20.3mp, 8fps, with Wi-Fi, around £799 with kit lens), and Fujifilm X-Pro1 (around £1179 body only).

You'll also need to buy a memory card and a case or bag to keep your camera safe and protected - have a look at our complete guide to camera bags.

Panasonic Lumix GH3 Verdict

The Panasonic Lumix GH3 with a rugged weather sealed body and Digital SLR styling and controls, is one of the most advanced Micro Four Thirds cameras available, and has an extensive range of useful photographic and video upgrades in comparison to previous Panasonic cameras. In fact, it's one of the most advanced Full HD video recording cameras available at the moment.

Image quality is very good with better noise performance than any other Panasonic Micro Four Thirds cameras, with detail visible in photos taken at ISO settings as high as ISO6400. Focus speed, shutter response and shot to shot times are all excellent, and the camera shoots at 6fps in continuous shooting mode, although it's a shame it's not as quick as the OM-D E-M5 and Sony NEX-7.

Where the GH3 really excels in video recording... with all the options under the sun, with AVCHD, MOV or MP4 recording up to 50 and 72mbps full HD, with stereo sound, mic and headphone sockets as well as HDMI out for continuous recording on an external device. The optional battery grip is a first for Panasonic Micro Four Thirds cameras, as extends battery life and gives better handling for portrait shooting.

The Panasonic Lumix GH3 with an RRP of £1549 body only in the UK feels a little expensive in comparison to the previous model, which was around £1000 with the 14-140mm lens. For the GH3 with the 14-140mm lens you're looking at £2099 (RRP), which is double the price of the GH2 with the same lens. Although we expect the price to drop over time, we can't help feeling that the price will be a barrier to some. If you want the best video recording Micro Four Thirds camera available then the Panasonic Lumix GH3 is highly recommended, particularly if you want to be able to shoot in all weather conditions.

 
  The Panasonic Lumix GH3 is one of the most advanced cameras available with high image quality and particularly impressive video.

Panasonic Lumix GH3 Pros

Excellent range of lenses
Excellent handling
Excellent image quality
Large strap
Weather sealed body
Long battery life
A massive amount of customisation available
6fps continuous shooting
Battery grip available
Wi-Fi built in

Panasonic Lumix GH3 Cons

High price
AWB under tungsten lighting
Lacks auto-ISO in manual mode

FEATURES    
HANDLING  
PERFORMANCE  
VALUE FOR MONEY  
VERDICT  

Panasonic Lumix DMC-GH3 Specifications

ManufacturerPanasonic
Image Sensor
CCD pixels16.05Mp (Megapixels)
Pixels (W)4608
Pixels (H)3456
Sensor TypeLive MOS Sensor
Sensor SizeMicro / Four Thirds
Sensor Size (width)17.3mm
Sensor Size (height)13mm
Aspect Ratio
  • 4:3
  • 3:2
  • 16:9
  • 1:1
LCD Monitor
LCD Monitor3in
Screen resolution614,000 dots
Touch ScreenYes
Focusing
Focusing modes
  • Autofocus
  • Manual
  • Face Detection
  • AF Tracking
  • Multi
  • Spot
  • Touch AF
Exposure Control
Shutter speeds shortest1/4000sec
Shutter speeds longest60sec
Exp modes
  • Program
  • Aperture-Priority
  • Shutter-Priority
  • Manual
  • Scene modes
Metering
  • Multi Pattern
  • Spot
  • Centre-weighted - Average
ISO sensitivity125 - 25600
White balance
  • Auto
  • Manual
  • Bracket
  • Outdoors/Daylight
  • Incandescent
  • Flash
  • Cloudy
  • Shade
Exposure Comp+/-5
Viewfinder
Viewfinder Resolution1,744K dots OLED
Shooting Options
Continuous shooting6fps
Video
Movie modeYes
Video Resolution
  • 1920x1080
  • 1280x720 720p
  • 640x480 VGA
Video FPS60p, 50p, 50i, 25p, 24p
Stereo SoundYes
Optical Zoom with VideoYes
Other Features
Image StabilisationNo
Interface
HDMIYes
USBUSB 2
Storage
Card Type
  • SD
  • SDHC
  • SDXC
File Type
  • RAW
  • JPG
  • RAW + JPG
Power Source
Battery TypeLi-ion Battery Pack
CIPA Rating540
Box Contents
Box ContentsBody, / Body Cap, / LUMIX G X VARIO 12-35mm / F2.8 ASPH. / POWER O.I.S. (H-HS12035), / Lens Cap, / Lens Hood, / Lens Rear Cap, / Battery Charger (AC Cable included), / Battery Pack, / USB Connection Cable, / Shoulder Strap, / CD-ROM
Dimensions
Weight550g
Width132.9mm
Height93.4mm
Depth82mm

View Full Product Details

Explore More

Photographs taken using the Panasonic Lumix DMC-GH3

streetpavilionBad Hair Daysome birchesbirch plantationyet more birchesmore birchesbirchesThe shop of curiousitiesFountains Abbey 4Windows in Norway (Stavanger)Fountains Abbey 3Fountains Abbey 2Fountains AbbeyWindows in Washington 5
Join ePHOTOzine and remove these ads.

Comments


19 Oct 2012 4:24PM
Good to see an early review of this model. How does the Continuous AF perform - any better than other Micro 4/3rds models especially the Olympus OM-D? Price seems VERY high - body only about the same as a Nikon D600 or two D7000s!

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

Niknut e2
4 673 64 United Kingdom
19 Oct 2012 4:29PM
Exquisite camera !!!.....although I have absolutely no use for video, it's still very
desirable !!!

The down-side being the ridiculous price !!!!!.......half that £1550 for the body would
be somewhere near 'value for money' ??......but that money will almost buy a new
Nikon D600 or Canon 6D, so I know where my cash would be 'splashed'...if I'd got
that sort of 'ready' available.........Grin

Ah well, back to the daydreams !!!!!!!!.Smile
rymski 6 7
19 Oct 2012 4:31PM
Smashing camera, but you have to be a Russian oligarch to afford it!

Silly amount to pay in austerity times.
Alan_Baseley e2
13 323 2 England
19 Oct 2012 6:32PM
Highly recommended! Is it worth 3 K30s or 2+ K5s?
josa 2 25 Czech Republic
19 Oct 2012 7:46PM
Where are the pics of the castle???? Great camera but way too expensive, and yes K 5 seems like a super deal...
JohnHoppy 5 5 United Kingdom
19 Oct 2012 8:59PM
You're right, price is way too high. It annoys me when the design guys have done a good job only to be spoiled by greedy marketing men. US release price $1299+6% = £840 - far more realistic for the market sector this camera will drop into. A few in UK will pay the high price, most will wait till it falls, as it quickly will. When it falls it devalues the brand image which hinders development and allows DSLR competitors to tell customers "Don't buy a CSC, they aren't good value", so ultimately sales growth suffers and Panasonic will gain little financially. I waited to buy a G5 and finally bought from Holland at €600. Good products, but somebody should tell these people their pricing is out of touch, people will go elsewhere - look at the above.
joshwa e2
4 605 United Kingdom
19 Oct 2012 9:18PM

Quote:Where are the pics of the castle???? Great camera but way too expensive, and yes K 5 seems like a super deal...


We will be adding / taking these photos when the weather improves Smile
20 Oct 2012 7:56AM
The prices you mention must be seriously wrong.
In Sweden I can pre order the body only for £ 975 (SEK 10.900) inc vat
and the GH3 with 12-35/2,8 for £ 1780 (SEK 19.900) inc vat


And yes - I have pre ordered Smile

/Anders
lemmy 7 2.0k United Kingdom
20 Oct 2012 9:56AM
I've just ordered one of these from Germany for €1199 which works out at £950.

Oddly, the German site would not accept my British credit card but I have French bank account and paid in Euros from that.

Not for nothing did the car makers call us Treasure Island Sad
joshwa e2
4 605 United Kingdom
20 Oct 2012 5:25PM
More photos added to the review.
josa 2 25 Czech Republic
20 Oct 2012 5:38PM
Thank you!
jeanmb 2
20 Oct 2012 11:33PM
I don't get it... For the same money you can buy a full frame Canon 5D Mk II, Nikon D600 (with one of the best full frame sensors ever created). OM-D, I still get that, but a GH3 at this price?
lemmy 7 2.0k United Kingdom
21 Oct 2012 12:50AM

Quote:I don't get it...


Obviously not. I use my cameras to make money. I live in France and London and do much of my photography while travelling around on a bicycle from my bases in these two countries.

A GH3 (GH2 at the moment) and lenses from (35mm equiv) 14mm to 600mm weigh in at less than 4kg on my back. Because of the video capabilities of these cameras, I am now making money from Youtube too.

Take a full frame camera with lenses from 14mm to 600mm. Could you then do what I do?

The GH3 I have ordered can be controlled with live video feed, out in the Pyrenees, from a wifi connection to my iPad. I have plans on wild life photography using this facility and with the extra grip on the GH3 can expect a battery life of over 1000 pictures.

The only reason I have held off from an OM-D is that without the backward swivelling screen, many things I want to video cannot be easily done and also that the OM-D is smaller than my GH2. I want something slightly bigger so that I have more immediately available settings.

I understand that someone does not need a camera's attributes themselves but I find it hard to see why they don't understand why someone else would.

Also, since I have a Euro account in France, I can buy the GH3 for much the same price I can an OM-D.

I find it easy to get.
UKMike2013 2 20 United Kingdom
21 Oct 2012 12:09PM
I am a little confused by the price of the GH3 which is much too high, and particularly the size, which has grown to be bigger than the consumer DSLRs from Canon and Nikon.
With no mirror to flip up I would have expected a more compact camera. This, The OM-D and the Sony SLTs should perhaps be grouped as "Interchangeable Lens Bridge Cameras".
lemmy 7 2.0k United Kingdom
21 Oct 2012 1:14PM

Quote:I am a little confused by the price of the GH3 which is much too high


I'm paying £956 which seems OK to me. The size is ideal for me. I wanted something a little bigger than an OM-D or my GH2 so that the camera body had space for physical controls.

it's nearly an half-inch wider, .16 of an inch taller, and an inch and a half deeper than the OM-D. Most of the extra depth is the hand grip. Fit a grip to the OM-D and it's nearly the same.

Since the OM-D is tiny, the GH3 remains a small camera. But that is to miss the point. Take a look at the size of the lenses - that where the important weight and size is saved with M43.
joshwa e2
4 605 United Kingdom
22 Oct 2012 9:40AM
Someone asked (via email) whether the GH3 had 1/48th of a shutter speed (called 180 degree shutter) available when recording 24p. I've just checked and in shutter or manual modes when recording video the shutter speeds go from 1/40 to 1/50 to 1/60.
mikehit e2
5 6.8k 11 United Kingdom
22 Oct 2012 3:58PM
Do you know who makes the sensor for the GH3? I was told by someone that it is the same Sony sensor as in the OM-D.
23 Oct 2012 11:03AM
I'm still very satisfied with my GH2. I'll wait probably till next spring and hopefully GH3 price will be a little bit lower.

One thing I very much like about GH2 is the extra zoom function when taking video. I don't remember what panasonic calls it, but I mean the function where only the needed pixels from the center of the sensor are used when takin a video.

Is there same kind of function in GH3? I like it so much, that it could even be a deal braker for me.
23 Oct 2012 11:51AM
In case anybody is interested, I've had the opportunity to play around with a pre-production model this weekend. Wrote a little report and thrown some shots together. Please be kind, this is not meant as a extensive scientific test, just a personal impression of the GH3

(and please note it's a v0.5 firmware pre-production model)

http://www.workstation.nl/gh3eng.html

http://vimeo.com/51928527
23 Oct 2012 11:52AM

Quote:
One thing I very much like about GH2 is the extra zoom function when taking video. I don't remember what panasonic calls it, but I mean the function where only the needed pixels from the center of the sensor are used when takin a video.

Is there same kind of function in GH3? I like it so much, that it could even be a deal braker for me.



It's called ETC, and it is featured on the GH3
lemmy 7 2.0k United Kingdom
23 Oct 2012 1:07PM

Quote:It's called ETC, and it is featured on the GH3


ETC = extended tele converter. For those who don't do video, the max pixel width needed for video is 1920 whereas you have a sensor more than 4600px across.

So if you just use the centre 1920px from the 4000 you have a roughly 2.5 times tele-converterr for video without quality loss (in principle).

So when I put my 100-300 zoom on the GH2 and bring in the ETC you have a tele lens which on FF would be a 1500mm tele. It can give spectacular effects but you need a solid tripod!

I've done a little demo of ETC.




Paul Morgan e2
13 15.7k 6 England
29 Oct 2012 7:42PM
This is the first Panasonic M4/3 camera to include wireless flash capabilities (big news) and it didn`t get mentioned at all Smile
pluckyfilly e2
8 293 33 United Kingdom
1 Nov 2012 2:34PM
I could be interested if the price was right, are there any other suggestions please? currently I use a Nikon D300 which in my ageing years I am beginning to find carrying the kit around too heavy, I was thinking mirrorless and have gone for the Sony NEX-5 but its not sufficient for my needs I need something a bit more and the GH3 would be the sort of thing I might have considered.
Ann
lemmy 7 2.0k United Kingdom
1 Nov 2012 4:00PM

Quote:something a bit more and the GH3 would be the sort of thing


Probably ideal considering the much smaller and lighter lenses too. The Olympus OM-D would be worth a look too.
pluckyfilly e2
8 293 33 United Kingdom
1 Nov 2012 5:47PM
Thank you I will look at that as an option
peenut 1
16 Mar 2013 5:51PM
I absolutely love the photo's and videos from my gh3. It would be nice if someone could tell me why my videos taken in mov (1080,30p ALL-INTRA) or mov (1080 60p) play back like high speed digital frames that is so irritating I can't even watch. It gets worse when I put them on a dvd. The only program they "plays" well is a program that doesn't have the option of making a dvd or saving them to my ext. HD. In the review you use AVCHD (1080,50i) which is not available in my menu. Also video options available, why/why not when/when not to use them (there was no audio in the review video). To me, this was critical when purchasing this camera, especially because I made the decision based on video. I now have 32g memory card full of video from my granddaughters birthday party that no one I know is able to duplicate to a dvd. I need to keep it on a memory card until something becomes available to make a decent dvd. When researching this camera everyone recommended the video settings MOV FHD60 OR MOV I 30p,which I used and the video's are beautiful. I have discovered my video dilemma is not peculiar to me as others are complaining. I already have two computers with no plans on purchasing another since this gh3 and lens set me back 4 grand. On my ss income it is probably the last large purchase I make, unless the water heater goes. I am aware your review of the gh3 was early. I understand the pressure. This is why the menu on my newly purchased gh3 is not the same as yours, so that is pretty much obsolete. I returned my first gh3 as the flash didn't work and there was no explanation from Panasonic. When the flash on the replacement didn't work as well, I knew I had to find out why, in spite of the fact that no one at Panasonic had an explanation...Scary... When the "electronic shutter" is "on", no
flash.
lemmy 7 2.0k United Kingdom
16 Mar 2013 6:21PM

Quote:.Scary... When the "electronic shutter" is "on", no
flash.



Why scary? You only have to read the menu. I use the electronic shutter all the time, just not for things it can't do.

Your post is very long and a bit hard to understand. All I can suggest is that you read the manual. It's all in there if you look for it. This is a versatile. complex and capable camera like all the top of the line M34s and you have to invest time and trouble in learning how to exploit it.
peenut 1
16 Mar 2013 11:49PM
It's scary because Panasonic didn't know turning on the electronic shutter turned off the flash, and told me to return the camera. And because their video software program does not permit a smooth operating video or the making a dvd with a smooth operating video. A bit hard to understand? Obviously your equipment is much more sophistacated than mine and you have been spared using the recommended "PhotoFun" .Have you tried 1080,30p ALL-INTRA) or mov (1080 60p). That's my question. I solved the flash myself. Also it's "scary" because I have not spoken to anyone at Panasonic who has even used or seen the gh3. As far as reading the manuel, where under flash does it tell you that turning on the electronic shuttter turns off the flash. Where does it discuss what settings to use. I have a brand new Dell computer that I'm still paying for that can't handel 1080,30p ALL-INTRA) or mov (1080 60p).
lemmy 7 2.0k United Kingdom
17 Mar 2013 11:01AM

Quote:t's scary because Panasonic didn't know turning on the electronic shutter turned off the flash


Under Electronic Shutter: p167 of the manual
•Flash is fixed to {Flash Off symbol} ([Forced Flash Off]).

I don't know why your computer can't 'handel' those movie files. I have a five year old machine using a 4 year old £30 video program that works just fine with them. Yes, I have tried all the movie modes on the GH3, they just work, even on my old stuff, as I said.

I am trying to be helpful but it does seem to me that you have a long learning curve in front of you. You seem to be really angry about your problems but they are all soluble if you will just sit down for a bit and try to learn. You are have bought a highly sophisticated camera and computer to do things that until recently were the province of highly trained professionals. It is going to be complicated.

No-one would buy guitar and expect to sit down and play it without a lot of learning, yet folk expect to buy complex equipment and just work it. The fun of all this technology is learning how to use it and what it can do.

If I were you, instead of trying to dive straight in on the highly sophisticated uses of the camera, I'd learn the simpler bits first. MP4s are pretty straightforward, as is the focal plane shutter.

As a suggestion, the next time you have a flash problem, rather than ask Panasonic, just open up the advanced manual pdf and search for all instances of flash. Look at them one by one. Then you would have found that the flash doesn't work with the ES. That's how I found out.

I envy you that new Dell, I must say. The GH3 and the zooms cleaned me out Sad
peenut 1
17 Mar 2013 6:01PM
Of course I'm angry. I researched the Panasonic gh3 for weeks and never found a complaint about video playback. Using "Photo Fun" software, which came with the camera is required. Bet you never used it.
Anyway I was about ready to return the camera today, as I have tried every possible video mode with the same results. I called B&H and asked specifically to speak with someone who had experience with the Panasonic gh3 video camera. In that conversation I learned that I am not the only one experiencing playback problems. The gh3 was marketed to consumers when it is a professional camera that needs professional soft ware. He recommended Sony Vegas. which I will check out. I have until April 1 to make a decision. I hate investing any more money.

Also, regarding the flash . There needs to be an important "note" emphasized at the top of the "FLASH" page where the program modes that can be used are located. THE REP. AT PANASONIC WANTED ME TO RETURN THE CAMERA BECAUSE THEY DIDN'T KNOW WHAT "GREYED OUT" THE FLASH.
I SPENT ONE-HALF AN HOUR ON THE PHONE WITH THEM. They also told me to use Windows Movie Maker to view and edit. Windows Movie Maker wouldn't even allow import of the video files.
lemmy 7 2.0k United Kingdom
17 Mar 2013 7:00PM
Well I haven't got any professional software. Sony Vegas that I have is a £30 cheapie.

Who is B&H? They sound utterly useless. Are they Panasonic owned? I haven't heard of anyone else with your problem. Most people are thrilled with the camera's video performance from all I read - which is a lot. The GH3 is a top line camera, though and not really much use to anyone inexperienced.

If I were you I'd just send the camera back.
peenut 1
17 Mar 2013 7:10PM
Just Google B & H. In New York, New York. USA Huge!!!
lemmy 7 2.0k United Kingdom
17 Mar 2013 7:35PM
I'm not in the US. No interest to me. Anyway, I tried to help but I don't think I can.

Sign In

You must be a member to leave a comment.

ePHOTOzine, the web's friendliest photography community.

Join For Free

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more.