Take your photography to the next level and beyond...

  • NEWS
  • REVIEWS
  • INSPIRATION
  • COMMUNITY
  • COMPETITIONS

Why not join for free today?

Join for Free

Your total photography experience starts here


Sigma DP2 Merrill Camera Review

Sigma DP2 Merrill Camera Review - The Sigma DP2 Merrill is a compact camera with a large APS-C size 48 megapixel Foveon X3 sensor.

 Add Comment

Category : Compact Cameras
Product : Sigma DP2 Merrill
Price : £799
Rating :
Share :

Features
Handling
Performance
Verdict
Specification

Ssigma Dp2 Merrill (3)

The Sigma DP2 Merrill is an update to the DP2x with a new body and the flagship APS-C foveon sensor from the SD1 / Merrill Digital SLR, although when comparing the DP2x and the new DP2 Merrill, the camera has been redesigned with a new lens, that matches the specification of the Sigma 30mm f/2.8 mirrorless lens and in some ways could be considered the closest Sigma has come to releasing a mirrorless camera. The two new Sigma DPx Merrill cameras now feature f/2.8 lenses, an improvement over the DP1's f/4.0 lens.

Updated 14/11/2012 with full production model.

Sigma DP2 Merrill Features

Ssigma Dp2 Merrill (7)

The Sigma DP2 Merrill uses the same 48 megapixel APS-C Foveon sensor as the SD1 Merrill, with a Foveon X3 Direct Image Sensor, with each pixel recording Red, Green and Blue, this is designed to be more colour accurate than the more usual Bayer colour filter sensor used on virtually every other camera (excluding the Fujifilm X-Pro1).

Foveon sensor vs Bayer sensor:

Image courtesy Sigma

Due to the camera not featuring a Bayer sensor, the camera does not need a "Low Pass Anti Aliasing Filter" this should mean higher resolution being passed to the sensor, plus the Foveon sensor should be able to avoid capturing Moiré - this should benefit fashion photography or anything involving very fine textures.

The sensor is a 15.6 megapixel sensor with Red, Green, Blue (RGB) at every pixel, Sigma say that this makes it equivalent to a 30 megapixel (Bayer) sensor. However the camera outputs an image size of 4607x3400 which is a 15.6 megapixel image.

Key Features

  • 48 megapixel Foveon APS-C X3 Direct Image CMOS sensor
  • Effective Pixels: 46MP (4,800×3,200×3)
  • 30mm f/2.8 lens equivalent to 45mm
  • 3 inch 920k dot screen
  • VGA, 30fps video
  • ISO: AUTO (ISO200~ISO800) ISO100 - 6400
  • Manual / Aperture / Shutter modes
  • Flash hot-shoe

Sigma DP2 Merrill Handling

Ssigma Dp2 Merrill (6)

Handling - The camera has a metal body, with a mode button on top instead of a dial. There is also a focus ring surrounding the lens, and the camera lacks a built in flash. The command dial surrounds the shutter release, and on the back the 4 way controller can be used in conjunction with the QS (Quick set) button. In size: it's roughly the same size as the Olympus PEN E-P3 (a medium sized compact mirrorless camera).

Sigma cameras ship with Sigma Photo Pro, RAW processing software specifically designed for processing Foveon X3F raw files. This software is sluggish, particularly if you want to view the images at full size, and not ideal for quick processing, although it does have a number of ways to alter: exposure, contrast, shadow, highlight, saturation, sharpness, X3 fill light, white balance, colour mode, noise reduction and lens correction. It's best to use the software for conversion to a different format for further processing in another application if desired. You can save the image as a JPEG or 8/16 bit TIFF. RAW files are 41 to 55 megabytes in size.

Ssigma Dp2 Merrill (4)

Menus – The menu system has a clearly laid out set of options, with record, playback and setup menu screens colour coded blue, red and yellow respectively. QS button gives quick access to options, although it's fairly easy to accidentally set options. QS screens, of which there are two, can be customised so you can get quick access to your favourite settings. Further picture options include settings for contrast, sharpness, saturation.

Ssigma Dp2 Merrill (9)

Battery life - Currently CIPA test results aren't listed by Sigma, however battery life was noticeably low, and the test camera came with two batteries in the box. We were able to take 135 shots before the battery went flat. We are hoping that this is due to the camera being pre-production, and that better battery life will be available with the final release version. The camera can get quite warm with continued use.

Speed - We took a number of shots to test the camera's responsiveness, from switch on to first photo, shot to shot, focusing speed etc. We take a number of shots and then use the average to ensure accurate and consistent tests, making it easy to compare with other cameras.


Sigma DP2 Merrill Sony RX100
Shutter Response
0.05 0.0
Wide - Focus / Shutter Response 0.5 0.3
Full zoom - Focus / Shutter Response
N/A 0.3
Switch on Time to Taking a Photo 3.0 2.2
Shot to Shot without Flash 1.0 0.9
Shot to Shot with Flash N/A 2.1
Continuous Shooting
(shots before slow down)
4fps (7 shots) 7fps (speed priority mode, 15 shots)
Continuous Shooting - Flash N/A 1.6s
Continuous Shooting - RAW 4fps (7 shots) 4fps (13 shots)

The final version of the camera improves over the pre-production version we tested with slightly quicker focus, and switch on time. The camera will take 7 photos, then write to card, this can be quite slow, particularly when shooting RAW taking 1 minute 10 seconds to clear.

Sigma DP2 Merrill Performance

Additional sample photos and product shots are available in the Equipment Database, where you can add your own review, photos and product ratings.

Sigma DP2 Merrill Sample Photos


Sample Photos - For every photo we have shown the JPEG image straight from the camera, and on the right the images converted from RAW. The "gate" JPEG image shows the sky completely overexposed, and using Sigma Photo Pro and the X3 fill light tool has boosted the shadows, as well as brought back the colour in the sky. We have used the "Airstream" photo and used the RAW file to see how much we can recover in the highlights, and there is an impressive amount of dynamic range when working with the RAW files. 

Sigma DP2 Merrill Lens test images


Lens Performance - Detail is extremely impressive, and we have done little when converting the RAW files. With the Sigma DP2 Merrill the best JPEG results are when shooting outdoors in bright sunny weather, although using the RAW file better results were available when changing the white balance setting from AUTO and choosing the appropriate option, such as Sunlight. We also adjusted the exposure slightly, boosted the shadows a little, and this has improved colour saturation. There is some purple fringing visible in the shot of the trees above, however the image converted from RAW shows slightly less, as well as showing much better colour. The lens performs extremely well although macro performance isn't a strong point, as the closest focusing distance is 28cm.

Sigma DP2 Merrill ISO test images


ISO Noise Performance - Noise is low at ISO100 and ISO200. Noise at ISO400 is generally quite low, although where it is visible it is reminiscent of film grain, and quite different to noise from other cameras. Noise becomes more noticeable at ISO800, although detail is still very good. Noise is quite intrusive (with corned beef) at ISO1600, which will be particularly unpleasant in skin tones although the noise does appear to affect some colours more than others, and detail suffers. Colour is lost at ISO3200 and ISO6400 - these highest settings are best avoided. There is further control over noise by adjusting the level of noise reduction in Sigma Photo Pro when converting the RAW files.

Sigma DP2 Merrill White-balance test images


White Balance Performance - White balance results when using most settings are poor shooting JPEG images, although auto white balance (AWB) results under fluorescent results are reasonable and white balance can easily be corrected when shooting RAW. Due to the poor white balance performance indoors, and less than perfect white balance performance outdoors, it is essential to shoot RAW with this camera. Detail is stunning, with more detail discernable in these shots that shots from the 41 megapixel Nokia PureView 808 (see the CD labels / logos as well as the text on the Kodak T400 film box), also it shows an impressive level of detail compared to the 36.3 megapixel Nikon D800 / D800E.

Sigma DP2 Merrill Other sample images


A number of other sample photos can be found here, showing both the JPEG results straight from the camera, as well as the images converted from RAW to JPEG, using Sigma Photo Pro 5.3.

Sigma DP2 Merrill Digital filters


Digital Filters - The camera has a number of colour modes available in the camera, or they can be applied to the RAW file with Sigma Photo Pro, although black and white / sepia are only available when shooting JPEG photos on the camera.

Video - The DP2 Merrill features VGA video recording at 30fps with mono sound - there are very few options (NTSC or PAL), and the video suffers from the "jello effect" if the camera is moved from left to right quickly.

Value For Money

There are a number of serious compact cameras, however a very small number feature an APS-C sized sensor, details can be found below:

Camera MP Sensor Size Lens Price
Nikon Coolpix P310 (lacks RAW) 16 1/2.33 inch f/1.8 4.2x £219
Olympus XZ-1 10 1/1.63 inch f/1.8 4x £260
Canon Powershot S100 12 1/1.7 inch f/2.0 5x £329
Fujifilm FinePix X10 12 2/3 inch f/2.0 4x £338
Nikon Coolpix P7100 10 1/1.7 inch f/2.8 7.1x £349
Samsung EX2F 12.4 1/1.7 inch f/1.4 3.3x £429
Panasonic Lumix LX7 10mp 1/1.7 inch f/1.4 3.8x £449
Ricoh GR Digital IV 10 1/1.7 inch f/1.9 28mm £449
Large sensor compacts:        
Canon Powershot G1 X 14.3 1.5 inch f/2.8 4x £449
Sony Cyber-shot RX100 20.2 1 inch sensor f/1.8 3.6x £515
Fujifilm X100 12 APS-C sensor f/2.0 28mm £599
Sigma DP1 Merrill 15.3/46 APS-C Foveon f/2.8 28mm
£799
Sigma DP2 Merrill 15.3/46 APS-C Foveon f/2.8 45mm £799
Leica X2 16 APS-C f/2.8 35mm £1499

There are a number of accessories available for the DP2 Merrill, including a lens hood, close up filter, optical viewfinder and GN14 flash. Further details can be found on Sigma's website.

You'll also need to buy a memory card and a case or bag to keep your camera safe and protected - have a look at our complete guide to camera bags.

Sigma DP2 Merrill Verdict

The Sigma DP1 and DP2 Merrill is in a group of a limited number of compact cameras with an APS-C sized sensor and a fixed lens, along with the Leica X2 and the Ricoh GXR APS-C cameras. This niche is rarer still due to the use of a Foveon sensor which promises the ultimate in image quality, although this is when shooting RAW. The Foveon sensor is capable of resolving excellent - to stunning - levels of detail far beyond what you would usually expect from 15 megapixel images.

While the body redesign has added a number of useful and needed updates, there are still a number of further issues, namely the camera is larger than many mirrorless cameras, the cost is higher than mirrorless cameras, and the battery life and speed of the camera are worse than competitors. However, if you are a fan of the Foveon colour and extremely high levels of detail at the pixel level, then these are things you may be able to work around, for example with a number of spare batteries.

It's still the case that to get the best out of Foveon sensor cameras you are required to shoot RAW and convert each one in Sigma Photo Pro software. Even when left on Auto settings this produces better results than the camera for white balance and detail. Outdoors this isn't as big an issue, however considering the whole benefit of the Foveon sensor is supposed to be true colour rendition, it's a real shame the JPEG photos come out so poor.

The Sigma DP2 Merrill has an excellent lens and sensor and is capable of producing stunning images with excellent colour and outstanding levels of detail. However to acheive this you have to shoot RAW and process each image in Sigma Photo Pro, making it quite time consuming.

Sigma DP2 Merrill Pros

Clear menu system
New high resolution screen
Excellent image quality when shooting RAW
Impressive levels of detail
Robust metal body
New lens

Sigma DP2 Merrill Cons

Large RAW files (45 to 55mb each)
Poor JPEG results
Poor auto white balance results
Sigma Photo Pro performance
Lacks flash
VGA video
Poor battery life

FEATURES
HANDLING
PERFORMANCE
VALUE FOR MONEY
VERDICT

Sigma DP2 Merrill Specifications

ManufacturerSigma
Lens
Max Aperturef/2.8
35mm equivalent45mm
Optical Zoom0x
Image Sensor
CCD pixels48Mp (Megapixels)
Pixels (W)4704
Pixels (H)3136
Sensor TypeFoveon X3 CMOS
Sensor SizeAPS-C
Sensor Size (width)23.5mm
Sensor Size (height)15.7mm
Aspect Ratio
  • 3:2
LCD Monitor
LCD Monitor3in
Screen resolution920,000 dots
Touch ScreenNo
Focusing
Min Focus28cm
Focusing modes
  • Autofocus
  • Manual
  • Spot
  • Multi
Exposure Control
Shutter speeds shortest1/2000sec
Shutter speeds longest30sec
Exp modes
  • Program
  • Aperture-Priority
  • Shutter-Priority
  • Manual
Metering
  • Centre-weighted - Average
  • Spot
  • ESP Light Metering
ISO sensitivity100 - 6400
White balance
  • Auto
  • Manual
  • Outdoors/Daylight
  • Cloudy
  • Incandescent
  • Fluorescent
  • Shade
  • Flash
Exposure CompNo Data
Shooting Options
Continuous shooting4fps
Video
Movie modeYes
Video Resolution
  • 640x480 VGA
Video FPS30
Stereo SoundNo
Optical Zoom with VideoNo
Other Features
Image StabilisationNo
Interface
HDMINo
USBUSB 2
Wi-FiNo
Storage
Card Type
  • SD
  • SDHC
  • SDXC
File Type
  • RAW
  • JPG
  • RAW + JPG
Power Source
Battery TypeLiĀ–ion Battery Pack BP-41,
CIPA RatingNo Data
Box Contents
Box ContentsNo Data
Dimensions
Weight340g
Width121.5mm
Height66.7mm
Depth59.2mm

View Full Product Details

 

Explore More

Photographs taken using the Sigma DP2 Merrill

Deer flySummer dazeSnowed inNYMystic pegMerrill shoots people tooTruck faceCat converterThe second best.....Almost humanRoadRoadNeedles & Bubbles...Red Paint
Join ePHOTOzine and remove these ads.

Comments


josa 2 25 Czech Republic
28 Aug 2012 7:40PM
Great resolution, but somehow it's not what I'd expect from a company like Sigma...I don't think people will rush to the store...who knows.

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

Scottelly 1 35 United States
28 Aug 2012 9:09PM
The new Sigma DP cameras are amazing new cameras. It seems that most people who bought the DP1 and DP2 cameras in the past seem to love them. They have cult following, like Apple computers. The new cameras, with their amazing new sensor, should be the same. With 3 times the resolution, it is like the diffrence between Nikon's D700 and the new Nikon D800. Only time will tell, but I believe the new Sigma cameras will be a huge success for Sigma, and a good place for people to start with Foveon sensor cameras. I already am planning to get one of these compact cameras.

I don't believe the short battery life will be a big issue with these. Most people who carry these cameras seem to shoot a few dozen photos per day. They will know they need to recharge the battery that night, rather than trying to go for days on just one battery charge. I think it's cool that Sigma realizes that people should have a second battery, and included one.

Go Sigma!

(Oh, and I shoot with a Sony A55, but I own a Sigma SD14. I love that Sigma, but it is too slow for what I shoot most of the time, and the new Sony is just more versatile, so I shoot with the Sony more. Still, the Sigma has a special place in my heart, and I keep it with me as a back-up camera. It captures amazing dynamic range - I would guess about 14 stops. At ISO 100 is produces no noise, unlike the Sony and other cameras with CFA sensors.)
blanko70 3 1 United Kingdom
29 Aug 2012 2:38PM
I just don't get it. Ok, the sensor, blah blah blah. But over a minute to clear a RAW file, but crappy JPEGS? The battery life? It's too big and expensive for what it is, Fuji's X series and Sony's NEXs will eat this alive, let alone Micro4/3. It makes the Leica X2 look like money well spent. We're getting spoilt for choice these days, cos 2.8 don't look as fast as it once did.

I think that chart comparing with the sony tells the whole story, it's just too sluggish, but not just that, it's outclassed.

You can spend your money far better these days, it seems a shame as a company like Sigma could've been in a position to innovate and lead the way, much like the reinvention of Fuji and Olympus since moving away from DSLRs. I love the idea of small forfactor/large sensor, but it'll soon be a NEX and pancake bulking out my pocket, not a Sigma
Scottelly 1 35 United States
29 Aug 2012 6:55PM
It's not about the speed of the lens. It is about the quality of the image. The dynamic range, detail, and noise levels of daylight images (ISO 100 and ISO 200) from the DP2 Merrill and DP1 Merrill will be unparalleled by any other compact camera, including the Sony NEX 7. Unfortunately, Sigma is not making a mirrorless system camera (that might hurt sales of their SD1 Merrill, or maybe a mirrorless camera is next), and yes, the speed of the Sigma cameras (basically all of them) is very slow. But then again, so is the speed of a Leica S2 or a normal medium format camera.

I believe that Sigma has always had a speed issue with their cameras. Hopefully they will figure out a way to fix that, especially now that they are making their cameras video capable. Of course, I doubt they will ever be able to compete in the same arena as Sony for speed and versatility. They need to stick with image quality as their main objective, and I think they are doing just fine in that respect.

You say you "just don't get it." That's why you should try one of the new cameras. The image quality is superb. If you really value amazing image quality, you will be very happy with what you can get with a Sigma camera. My SD14 competes with 12 megapixel cameras, like the Nikon D90, even though it is supposed to only be a 4.7 megapixel camera. The incredibly sharp images are the proof. Read this: http://www.rytterfalk.com/2011/01/20/why-i-choose-sigma/

To learn more about the capabilities of a Foveon sensor, read this:

http://www.ddisoftware.com/sd14-5d/

Those pages should help in your understanding. Just so you know, the new Foveon sensor has been acknowledged by many as being equal to a 30 megapixel CFA sensor (Bayer pattern sensor). If you compare it to a smaller sensor, like a 4/3 sensor, it is probably not really comparable, even if the 4/3 sensor was 30 megapixels (and there isn't one that I know of). Doing that would be like comparing the new 22 megapixel Canon 5 D Mk III to a 22 megapixel Hasselblad (undoubtedly no comparison, because the Hasselblad would produce an image with finer detail, greater dynamic range, and less noise).

Unfortunately, there are not many serious tests of the new Foveon sensor. Reviewers either compare with different lenses or there are some other faults in their review process, such as focusing issues, etc. When all is said and done, I think you'll find that you have to just try one of these new, amazing Foveon sensors. Don't worry. You can certainly sell your new camera or just return it to the store you bought it from, if you don't like it. It might cost you a little, but if you want to find out about REAL high image quality from a small camera, you should try one of these. They are unmatched.

From my experience, I would say that there is no camera available under $5,000, except the new Nikon D800 and D800E, that can compete in image quality at ISO 100 or ISO 200, and I believe the new Sigma cameras will even give the best sub-$2,000 cameras a run for the money at ISO 400 and ISO 800, no matter what size or format the camera is (except large and medium format film).
29 Aug 2012 10:14PM
In the long run, does it matter if one camera is a second or two faster focusing than the other?

Once you take a picture, the camera is out of the equation. All that is left is the image. It doesn't matter what modes a camera had or if it could detect smiles, all that matters is the image you are left with - and there the DP-2M is way ahead of even the Leica X2, and on par with the D800! Only it's like a D800 you can fit in a (large) pocket... what other camera can be with you so often and provide that level of detail in images?

The DP-2M was an able enough camera to get an image of the F-22 Raptor in flight:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/kigiphoto/7885751630/

And also take some good concert photos at ISO 800:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/kigiphoto/sets/72157631218864438/

(You can see original size images at each link)

The stuff in-between these scenarios is even easier to manage.

I'm not saying this is a camera for everyone, many people could not live without zoom. But if you want an amazing travel or landscape camera, this is something you should look at very carefully.

The ultimate light travel setup is this:
Sigma DP-2M
Sigma DP-1M (due to be released this fall, for wide shots)
Any DSLR with a long lens.

Then if you are somewhere without the DSLR, you can still have one of the other compacts with you at all times for shots. The DP-M cameras have enough resolution you can crop heavily, so you can avoid a range of lenses for the DSLR (already paying for the small cameras). If one camera is broken/stolen, hey you have three...
Scottelly 1 35 United States
29 Aug 2012 11:35PM
I see the DP-1M and DP-2M cameras as entry cameras and as competitors to cameras like the Fujifilm Finepix X-100, which seems to sell quite well at $1,200! (there are 172 reviews of it at B&H right now, which is an indicator of its popularity). I think for $300 more that Fuji camera just could not compete against the Sigma DP-1M in image quality. Of course, I don't understand why someone would buy that camera, when the Sony NEX 7 is available, frankly. It must be that some people are anti-Sony or just like the fact that the Fuji is silver and very retro. The Sigma is not so retro, which may give the Fuji some advantage. I guess we will see.

Interestingly (surprisingly), the Sigma DP1x only has 3 reviews at B&H, even though it costs only about half the price of the Fuji. I think people are not convinced of the image quality of that Foveon sensor camera, which would be equivalent to a 12 megapixel APS-C sensor camera, but with NO noise at ISO 100. I wonder if we will see the same sort of discrepancy in numbers with the DP-1M camera and others. The DP-2M is available now at B&H, but there are no reviews yet.

Thanks for the info. Kendall.

BTW, for anyone interested, I have seen the print of the following image (printed at approximately 40 inches across). It has exquisite detail. So do the other giant prints in the large print tour.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/kigiphoto/7845537924/sizes/o/in/set-72157631209953040/

If you don't know what the large print tour is, don't worry about it. Just know that there have been some very large prints on tour around the U.S., and they demonstrate the new Foveon sensor's capabilities very well, and they are convincing enough to make a believer of me and many others.

I have been looking for a camera to use as a portable, digital, and affordable landscape camera. Those prints proved to me that the Sigma SD1 is that camera, and fortunately for me, the rice has come down far enough for it to be much more affordable.
Scottelly 1 35 United States
29 Aug 2012 11:49PM
O.K. Now I see why the Fuji X-Pro-1 and X-100 cameras are selling. The high ISO performance is absolutely ASTOUNDING!

It looks like they just might be the low-light camera of the future. Now I see why someone would choose one of the new Fujifilm cameras over the Sony NEX 7 (and the much cheaper Sigma DP-1M or DP-2M).
31 Aug 2012 8:03AM
High ISO on Fujifilm X-Pro1 is not amazing. They cheat with noise reduction in raw files that smears details. X100 is better, but still does a little cheating. Most of the heavily reviewed cameras are cheating in raw files now. It's the reason I didn't buy an Olympus OM-D E-M5. The high ISO performance isn't really as good as it appears to be.
Scottelly 1 35 United States
1 Sep 2012 3:26AM
Well, all I know is what I saw, when I was comparing identical images with the Sony NEX 7 and Nikon D800 against the X-Pro1. Click on the image of the back part of the blue Volkswagen Beetle car, just below the little globe of the Earth in the high-ISO comparison:

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/fujifilm-x-pro1/24

For more info. go to this review:

http://www.imaging-resource.com/PRODS/fuji-x-pro1/fuji-x-pro1A.HTM
2 Sep 2012 6:34AM
Try a comparison like this:

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/sigmasd1/19

* Nikon D4
* Olympus OM-D E-M5
* Fujifilm X-Pro1
* Sigma SD1 Merrill
* Compare raw instead of JPEG
* ISO 1600

The Fujifilm X-Pro1 does LOOK better, but that doesn't mean it IS better. If you look at the spools of thread in the dark area, you'll see that the light blue threads are smeared to a solid light blue color on the X-Pro1, but the individual threads are still distinguishable on all of the other cameras, even though they're getting pummeled with noise. If you use superresolution techniques, you can eliminate all the noise and get just pure detail, at a higher resolution. That can't be done as well with the over-baked X-Pro1 images. Even if it's better than all but the D4, it can't be pushed as far as the other cameras can go.
Scottelly 1 35 United States
2 Sep 2012 7:31AM
Yes, definitely. What you're seeing at ISO 1600 is the cross-over point. At ISO 1600 and below the other cameras are pretty much all superior. When you shoot at ISO 3200 or ISO 6400 is where the Fuji X-Pro1 really shines. Maybe that is just a function of noise reduction, which has not been applied to the other images, but whatever the reason, the photos in the tests look great to me. This may be one of those instances, where the tests don't really show the truth. If you look at some of the parts of the image, where the D800 image looks blurry, some or even most of the other images look just fine. Take a look at the playing card, when you have the ISO set to 200. You'll be amazed to find that the image from the Nikon D7000 looks better than the image from the D800, if you go by just the playing card. I believe the depth of field on the Nikon D800 is smaller than that of the D7000 and other cameras tested, which may account for the issue. The image from the 5 D Mk II seems to have the same issue.
2 Sep 2012 8:23AM
The reason why the playing card looks so good from some cameras is because the regular patterns, solid colors, and well-defined edges make it easy for the noise reduction algorithms to smear details without being noticed. Since there's huge areas of solid color, smearing it all to one color just makes it look like it's supposed to look. The gradual gradations of color on the thread are not solid and uniform anywhere, so the noise reduction cheat fails there.

If you compare the Olympus OM-D E-M5 with the Fujifilm X-Pro1 at ISO 200 on the playing card, you can see an obvious difference in the quality that no amount of noise reduction can mask (because there isn't much noise). The E-M5 is clearly capable of beating the X-Pro1, at a cheaper cost.

As for the Nikon D7000 vs. D800E comparison, I noticed that before and it took me a while to figure it out. The D800 isn't using the best lens available for some reason. The same for the Sigma SD1 Merrill. They are both capable of better images. The gap between them is much smaller than it appears. The DP2 Merrill is actually pretty close in resolving power to the D800E, except it costs far less.
josa 2 25 Czech Republic
5 Sep 2012 7:33PM
I am glued to pictures in this gallery, thinking seriously about this camera.
5 Sep 2012 8:59PM
Me too. The only thing I'm still considering is whether to get both the DP1M and DP2M, or just the DP1M. I'm probably going to get both.
16 Sep 2012 8:51AM
Lovely castle. Anyone know where it is?
16 Sep 2012 9:43AM
The architecture has French influence, but it's not screamingly French. The artwork seems too primitive to be Germany, Austria, or Switzerland. The climate and weathering seems wrong for Northern Europe. I will guess it's Southern England. It could be Northwest France in the Normandy area, but I don't think so. It doesn't strike me as Belgian, but I have no explanation as to why that is.
joshwa e2
3 594 United Kingdom
16 Sep 2012 1:34PM

Quote: Lovely castle. Anyone know where it is?

Hi, it's Thoresby Hall: http://www.whatsonatthoresby.co.uk/
16 Sep 2012 8:14PM
From Google Maps, it looks like I made a good guess! Thanks for identifying it for us.

Sign In

You must be a member to leave a comment.

ePHOTOzine, the web's friendliest photography community.

Join For Free

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more.