Take your photography to the next level and beyond...

  • NEWS
  • REVIEWS
  • INSPIRATION
  • COMMUNITY
  • COMPETITIONS

Why not join for free today?

Join for Free

Your total photography experience starts here


New PortraitPro 12 SALE + 10% OFF code EPZROS814

Top 10 Best DSLRs reviewed by ePHOTOzine

Top 10 Best DSLRs reviewed by ePHOTOzine - Top 10 Best DSLRs reviewed by ePHOTOzine since January 2010.

 Add Comment

Category : Technology
Share :

Thinking about buying a new DSLR or upgrading your ageing kit? Over the last twelve months ePHOTOzine have been lucky to test some of the best DSLR's around. Priced from £389 to £3448 you will be able to find a Digital SLR to suit you. Here is our top ten:

1. Nikon D3S

Nikon D3S DSLR

Scoring an overall ten out of ten in our review last year, the Nikon D3S has an incredible ISO range, fast shooting speed and everything else you would expect from a pro-spec Nikon DSLR. The Nikon D3s DSLR Body is now available for £3448.00 from Warehouse Express here.

Nikon D3S Digital SLR Review
  FEATURES
  HANDLING
  PERFORMANCE
  VALUE FOR MONEY
  OVERALL

2. Pentax K-5

Pentax K-5 DSLR

Pentax' new flagship DSLR, the K-5, with a new sensor, better AF capabilities and improved low light performance. An excellent camera that is very highly recommended. The Pentax K-5 is available from £954 at Warehouse Express here.

Pentax K-5 Digital SLR Review
  FEATURES
  HANDLING
  PERFORMANCE
  VALUE FOR MONEY
  OVERALL

3. Pentax K-r

Pentax K-r DSLR

The mid-level Pentax K-r is an exciting product that offers excellent performance and is very well priced to compete in the marketplace. The Pentax K-r is available from £469 at  Warehouse Express here.

Pentax K-r Digital SLR Review
  FEATURES
  HANDLING
  PERFORMANCE
  VALUE FOR MONEY
  OVERALL

4. Nikon D7000

Nikon D7000 DSLR

Aimed at advanced amateurs, the D7000 has many features normally found in their pro line-up, such as a weather sealed magnesium and polycarbonate body, a 16.2Mp sensor, 39 AF points and continuous shooting at 6fps. The Nikon D7000 is available from £888 at Warehouse Express here.

Nikon D7000 Digital SLR Review
  FEATURES
  HANDLING
  PERFORMANCE
  VALUE FOR MONEY
  OVERALL

5 (joint). Nikon D3100

Nikon D3100 DSLR

The Nikon D3100 is a high quality, entry-level DSLR with a new 14.2Mp sensor, Live View and a full HD 1920x1080 / 1080p, 24fps video recording at an affordable price. The Nikon D3100 is available from £398.99 at Warehouse Express here.

Nikon D3100 Digital SLR Review
  FEATURES
  HANDLING
  PERFORMANCE
  VALUE FOR MONEY
  OVERALL

5 (joint). Canon EOS 60D

Canon EOS 60D DSLR

Aimed at advanced enthusiasts, the 60D has an 18Mp sensor, full HD video recording and an articulated swivel screen for live view shooting from any angle. A great all-round camera for those who want more than the entry-level models offer. The Canon 60D is available from £779 at Warehouse Express here.

Canon EOS 60D Digital SLR Review
  FEATURES
  HANDLING
  PERFORMANCE
  VALUE FOR MONEY
  OVERALL

5 (joint). Canon EOS 550D

Canon EOS 550D DSLR

The Canon EOS 550D has an 18Mp CMOS sensor, +/- 5EV exposure compensation and SDXC support. The performance of the 550D is excellent and will find many fans whether they are interested in stills, video or both. The Canon EOS 550D is available from £517 from Warehouse Express here.

Canon EOS 550D Digital SLR Review
  FEATURES
  HANDLING
  PERFORMANCE
  VALUE FOR MONEY
  OVERALL

8 (joint). Olympus E-5

Olympus E-5 DSLR

The Olympus E-5 is aimed at professionals and higher end amateurs. It offers a host of features in a heavy and robust package, including a splash proof construction. The E-5 is a top quality camera that can help take top quality images. The E-5 costs £1448 and is available from Warehouse Express here.

Olympus E-5 Digital SLR Review
  FEATURES
  HANDLING
  PERFORMANCE
  VALUE FOR MONEY
  OVERALL

8 (joint). Sony Alpha A500

Sony A500 DSLR

The Sony Alpha A500 has a 12.3Mp CMOS sensor, in-body image stabilisation, live view at a competitive price point and is a very capable piece of equipment, easily holding its own in many areas against the competition. The Sony Alpha A500 costs £629 and is available from Warehouse Express here.

Sony Alpha A500 Digital SLR Review
  FEATURES
  HANDLING
  PERFORMANCE
  VALUE FOR MONEY
  OVERALL

10. Sony Alpha A390

Sony A390 DSLR

The Sony Alpha A390 is a light, compact DSLR sporting a 14.2Mp sensor, in-body image stabilisation and quick AF live view with an articulated screen. The Sony Alpha A390 costs from £389 and is available at Warehouse Express here.

Sony Alpha A390 Digital SLR Review
  FEATURES
  HANDLING
  PERFORMANCE
  VALUE FOR MONEY
  OVERALL

Explore More

Join ePHOTOzine and remove these ads.

Comments


24 Mar 2011 3:20PM
Nice to see Pentax up there with the best again.

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

JackAllTog e2
5 3.6k 58 United Kingdom
24 Mar 2011 5:58PM
The Pentax does look to be a beauty doesn't it. (i'm a canon boy)
ianrobinson e2
4 1.1k 8 United Kingdom
24 Mar 2011 7:18PM
ok where on earth is canons 7d and 5d mark 11 or even the 1d all three of these cameras are blisteringly good and not a mention shame on you nikon lovers.
Personally i think the d3s is no different to the canon 1d 1v but no mentio of that great camera.
Was it a nikon man writing this review by chance.
User_Removed 10 17.9k 8 Norway
24 Mar 2011 8:33PM

Quote: Nice to see Pentax up there with the best again.

I totally agree - and I'm a Nikon user at present.


Quote: Was it a nikon man writing this review by chance.

Yah Boo Sucks!!!

Wink
cameracat 10 8.6k 61 Norfolk Island
25 Mar 2011 9:49PM

Quote: Was it a nikon man writing this review by chance.

What we have here is the top 10 cameras reviewed by ePHOTOzine.....Grin

The Canon models you mention are not in the top 10....Smile

Get over it.....Wink
26 Mar 2011 12:18AM
Mmmm nikon nikon nikon looks a bit dodgy!, some ones making a few quid, everyone knows canon 1D is king, watch the news and you Will see most of the press guys using them great L lenses on there rugged 1Ds.
ianrobinson e2
4 1.1k 8 United Kingdom
26 Mar 2011 4:26PM
Totally agree vassili77 lol i may have started something here hee hee......

quote" What we have here is the top 10 cameras reviewed by ePHOTOzine"

Acording to what ephotozine expert.

If this was any kind of fair top ten best cameras out there then we all know canons beast of a 1d s would be up there with nikon 3d s.

Personally i don't have any problem with nikon infact i nearly chose nikon but went to canon instead i am just saying i don,t believe this is a fair review on the so called top ten cameras.

And as i believe i still live in a so called free speech country i and voicing that so getting over it doesn't come into it.
kriaze 3
27 Mar 2011 3:26AM
Pentax were the leaders of film at one point, I currently own one along with the Canon EOS 5D Mk II and I have to say that Pentax are on their way back. Has anyone seen the 645D lately? Damn shame they missed out on the full frame market but they're priced fairly for what they're offering and it's great to see that they're up there in the top 10. I too cannot see why the excellent (albeit ageing) 5D Mk II isn't there and I really don't understand no mention of the outstanding 7D APS-C camera. What gives, did we have a reviewer that wanted a different result for a change? Right or wrong any unbiased poll will show that there are two Canons that are missing from these results. I have no problem with Nikon either btw...I just think that the ommision of one of these cameras would be different, two is definately making me join the 'unfair review' corner. Pentax are on their way back, but where's that 1Ds...oops did I forget to mention the best camera that Canon have made whilst I was talking about their other ones? =]
joshwa e2
3 600 United Kingdom
29 Mar 2011 9:30AM
This list is the:


Quote: Top 10 Best DSLRs reviewed by ePHOTOzine since January 2010.

If we looked at the Top 10 Best DSLRs in the last 24 months, the list would be different. (And we may do that article in the future).
YoBellzaa e2
7 224 England
29 Mar 2011 9:32AM
Hello, some very valid points about how good some of the Canon's are but hope this clears up any thoughts that I might have been biased:


Quote: Top 10 Best DSLRs reviewed by ePHOTOzine since January 2010.


Quote: Over the last twelve months ePHOTOzine have been lucky to test some of the best DSLR's around.

Canon 5D Mk II - reviewed 18th September 2008
Canon 7D - reviewed 9th November 2009
Canon 1Ds Mk III - reviewed 13th March 2008
Canon 1D Mk IV - we only did a preview not a review
ianrobinson e2
4 1.1k 8 United Kingdom
30 Mar 2011 6:35PM
ok point taken.

did you review these cameras, if not are you going to.

Canon 5D Mk II - reviewed 18th September 2008
Canon 7D - reviewed 9th November 2009
Canon 1Ds Mk III - reviewed 13th March 2008

thx and yep clears that point up nicely.
30 Mar 2011 8:56PM
I don't care who says what: I'm in love with my D700!
30 Mar 2011 10:58PM
The last decent Canon APS-C was the Canon 40D. The 7D suffered from too many pixels, ditto the 50D .
The 60D , that makes the Top Ten here, is not really a CanonxxD but rather like a top Rebel. It's all plasticky.
Nikon are definitely ahead, thanks to some really bad marketing decisions by Canon over the past three years when they went flat out to sell to the mob with more and more pixels crammed in.

( I'm a Canon owner, though I still maintain and use a Nikon N90S in film , best ever! )

Quote: Mmmm nikon nikon nikon looks a bit dodgy!, some ones making a few quid, everyone knows canon 1D is king, watch the news and you Will see most of the press guys using them great L lenses on there rugged 1Ds.

Hmmmm... I know a close friend providing pictures for National Geographics. Canon sponsors his trips. Canon provides him cameras and lenses. How many media guys receive such privileged? Maybe, that's why you see them using Canon.
4 Apr 2011 11:46PM
ONLY ONE COMMENT............NIKON RULES
NO QUESTION........

HAD PENTAX, CANON AND OLYMPUS........BUT ALL THE NIKONS I HAVE OWNED/OWN ARE JUST TOO GREAT.
jayatu 3 India
3 Jul 2011 7:07AM
sorry to say, i think it is not a review on the cameras produced from historical time to present days. it is rather a report on latest cameras on various categories as dslr for beginners, for professionals etc. all of u did not mention it.

Sign In

You must be a member to leave a comment.

ePHOTOzine, the web's friendliest photography community.

Join For Free

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more.