Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

135 f2

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

Leave a Comment
    • «
    • »
    woodworth
    woodworth  225 forum posts United Kingdom
    4 Jul 2012 - 9:19 AM

I'm quite interested in the Nikkor 135/2 as a low light and portrait lens.

It has been suggested to me that it is slow and noisy, but I don't really know if the person who said this was being ultra critical or if it is indeed so. I have seen customer feedback on WEX which suggests that a lot of people absolutely love this lens and don't seem to have the same criticism.

I have no knowledge of this lens and live in rural Cumbria many, many miles away from a decent camera store so can't go and try one out easily. What I'm asking is for is your opinion on this lens if you have one or have experience of using it.

Thanks in advance!Grin

Sponsored Links
    Sponsored Links 
    4 Jul 2012 - 9:19 AM

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

Sooty_1
    Sooty_1 Critique Team 41216 forum posts United Kingdom200 Constructive Critique Points
    4 Jul 2012 - 11:15 AM

It is a great lens, but is more aimed at film for a portrait lens. Bear in mind that on digital it will be the equivalent of just under 200mm, you are going to be quite a way from your subject - not the lens for more than head shots unless you can get a long way back.
    If you want a low-light portrait lens, and want to be in the same postcode as your subject, I would suggest something more like an 85mm f/1.8 or f/1.4, (or even a 50mm)? That will be the equivalent of 125mm-ish.
    If I could afford one, I'd look at the 85mm f/1.4D unless you have a camera without a focus linkage (D40, D60, D3xxx, D5xxx) in which case the G version is better.

Nick