Take your photography to the next level and beyond...

• NEWS
  • REVIEWS
  • INSPIRATION
  • COMMUNITY
  • COMPETITIONS

Why not join for free today?

Join for Free

Your total photography experience starts here

PRIZES GALORE! Enter The ePHOTOzine Exclusive Christmas Prize Draw; Over £10,000 Worth of Prizes! Plus A Gift For Everybody On Christmas Day!

1st photo event for a 30th birthday on a canal boat!

jowilde 9 6 United Kingdom
9 Sep 2009 11:57PM
I am quite new to photograpy and my sister has asked me to be her official photography at her party that is on a canal boat , the most pictures of people i have took is of my 2 children.

I have a cannon 1000d with a 18-55mm lens and wondered if anyone had any hints or tips for taking photos on a boat, it will probably be dark lighting so will probably need the flash but wondered what would be the best settings for my camera in the different modes.

Any help would be fantastic as i want to get some really good pictures for her.
Thanks
Joanne

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

sherlob e2
8 2.4k 126 United Kingdom
10 Sep 2009 9:12AM
Hi Joanne,

It seems as though you've hit a quiet period on the forums - so one would have usually answered your question by now.

I have no experience of canal boats so I can't advise from experience. However, given the narrow setting it is likely that you will get more use out of the wider side of your lens - so don't worry that the lens won't be upto the job. Don't be afraid to approach your subjects and shoot close range - but be careful not to distort their features too heavily. Also have a read of your manaual and see if your camera will allow exposure compensation when used with flash - this will help minimise overexposure when shooting as such close range. Also - if the weather permits - think about shooting outside the boat. This will give much more freedom compositionally and crucially more space.