Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

Advice about a first time studio?

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

Leave a Comment
    • «
    • »
    SophiaLuca
    12 Sep 2013 - 5:39 PM

Hi there,

Can anyone help me? I do apologise in advance if I sound ignorant and please don't eat me alive!

I'd love to have my own studio in the future, I'm looking to rent in a town in the UK, it won't be just yet because I want to research thoroughly before taking the plunge! I normally work on location and so have never needed a studio before. I would be shooting Portrait photography, families, children, weddings so I don't think the studio needs to be too big but I am a rookie so need advice and I need a plan!

What basic equipment would I need to set up the studio, in terms of lighting, etc?
    How do I research what kind of size studio I would need?
    What is the best way to advertise and how much would it cost?
    Does anyone have any advice on insurance and how that works with a studio?

Thanks in advance!

Sophia

Sponsored Links
    Sponsored Links 
    12 Sep 2013 - 5:39 PM

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

mikehit
    mikehit  56745 forum posts United Kingdom11 Constructive Critique Points
    12 Sep 2013 - 6:08 PM

Two questions I would ask first of all are what level of experience do you have at the moment and do you have a room at home you can use while you learn what works best for you? Renting space can be a long-term commitment and you don't want to find out your place is the wrong size for your style of photography. Or (if you are a total beginner) you can't bring the work in to fund it.

thewilliam
    12 Sep 2013 - 7:01 PM