Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

Advice needed - Santa's grotto

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

Leave a Comment
    • «
    • »
    darley
    darley  1
    5 Nov 2012 - 2:14 PM

Hope this is the right place. I'm a fairly experienced photographer but have been asked to shoot a charity Christmas function in a community hall, specifically kids visiting Santa in his grotto, which I've never done. I foresee problems with lighting - lots of little lights in the background as well as ambient lighting, none of which I can control. I have a Canon 600D with a wireless 430EX II flash and intend using the kit 18-55 is II lens. I need fairly wide shots to include kid/Santa/grotto.

Any tips on lighting such a scene? Speedlite is controlled via camera flash so both will fire. I don't think I'll have long to set up and practice so need a basic starting point to work from. I'm thinking Speedlite off to the side bounced off ceiling and fill flash from camera, ISO 400, f5.6-6.0, WB I can figure out on the day but will shoot RAW as well.

I won't have time to do much PP as lots of parents will be wanting pics soon after!

Any advice will be greatly appreciated!

Sponsored Links
    Sponsored Links 
    5 Nov 2012 - 2:14 PM

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

scottishphototours

ISO 800, f4, 1/60, WB at 5000K, flash 10 degrees above Santas eyeline and 10 degrees to your side to produce very flat light, fired through brolly to soften on either TTL or manual 1/8th power should just about do it....dont forget spare batteries for flash...

darley
    darley  1
    5 Nov 2012 - 3:51 PM