Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

advice on lens required

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

Leave a Comment
    • «
    • »
    Artangel
    Artangel  4 United Kingdom1 Constructive Critique Points
    17 Oct 2009 - 12:16 PM

I am a newbie to the site and have been taking photos for a little while. Love wildlife and am considering a telephoto longer than my present 75-300mm on my Sony A350. Can't affor 'loadsamoney' . Would I be wasting my money on a Samyang TELE LENS 650-1300mm IF MC f/8,0-16,0 for SONY . Anyone got one and if so what is quality of image like. Happy to use tripod and manual focus, any other lens suggestions for around 200, can't get a Sony without huge loan.

Sponsored Links
    Sponsored Links 
    17 Oct 2009 - 12:16 PM

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

User_Removed
    17 Oct 2009 - 12:49 PM

It's a linear relationship. Good telephoto lenses cost lots of money. If it doesn't cost lots of money then its not a very good lens. End of.

Overread
    Overread  63762 forum posts England18 Constructive Critique Points
    17 Oct 2009 - 1:10 PM

The long telephoto type lenses your looking at there - the 650-1300mm are very weak options for telephoto work - espeailly for wildlife.
    On the first case they are a 650mm f8 standard lens, but with no auto focus and with no aperture changing, its fixed at f8 all the time. That will limit you a lot with lighting, meaning that you will have to be out in very good light to get shots at the faster shutter speeds that wildlife demand.