Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

0

Anybody used slrhut.co.uk?

Forums > Digital cameras > Anybody used slrhut.co.uk?

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

Leave a Comment
    First · Prev | 1 · 2 | Next · Last
    Steppenwolf
    20 Dec 2011 - 10:13 AM
    0

    They seem very cheap - e.g. 7D is £747. I guess there must be a catch, like they're selling grey imports but their feedback seems reasonable.

    Sponsored Links
    Sponsored Links
    20 Dec 2011 - 10:13 AM

    Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

    petemasty
    20 Dec 2011 - 11:28 AM
    0

    Well, atleast they give an address, phone numbers, opening hours etc. Never come across them before. A new Pentax Kr and kit lens is over £400, so not necessarily the cheapest, considering i got mine from Argos at over £30 less. £747 for a 7D is awfully cheap considering i sold mine privately a few weeks ago for more. Maybe its a refurb.

    I suppose its just a matter of treading a bit carefully. And feedback can always be 'made-up' dont forget.

    Cant remember the exact 'well known' saying but it has something to do with acting hastily and repainting leisure centres.

    petemasty
    20 Dec 2011 - 11:29 AM
    0

    Got it!!

    Act with haste, repent at your leisure centre!!!

    rhol2
    2
    206 forum posts United Kingdom1 Constructive Critique Points
    20 Dec 2011 - 11:35 AM
    0

    Not used them but have looked at the site and various comments in forums. Apparently their prices don't include VAT which is added at the final stage of ordering. However their prices prices still seem good.The "opening hours" seem odd too..i.e.2.30-11.30 most days. I read elsewhere that their stated address is a mailbox number not a warehouse despite the "Unit 17" tag .From buyers' comments they seem to ship from USA. Personally I would avoid them, on the grounds it seems sneaky to "hide" the VAT, plus the other concerns.

    Last Modified By rhol2 at 20 Dec 2011 - 11:38 AM
    dcash29
    20 Dec 2011 - 11:38 AM
    0

    A friend of mine asked me about them. So ive just give them a call and their UK phone line american answered is shut as it seems 11.44am UK is out of hours. So in my opinion they are USA based selling imports.

    MeanGreeny
    20 Dec 2011 - 12:09 PM
    0

    Try using the search function for the forums using 'slrhut'

    Previous SLRHut thread not too long ago

    mikehit
    mikehit (e2 Member)
    3
    4564 forum postsmikehit vcard United Kingdom5 Constructive Critique Points
    20 Dec 2011 - 12:09 PM
    0

    I think someone posted this same question about a month ago - have you searched for their name on this site? But IIRC the jury was still out.
    I agree with rhol2 - if they are hiding VAT it suggests that they are not UK-based.

    Yes, it looks like it's a USA company that has a pigeon-hole address here and gets into the best buys by not quoting VAT. Pity.

    Hugo
    8
    584 forum posts United Kingdom
    20 Dec 2011 - 9:06 PM
    0

    Agreed, it looks tempting (too tempting, must be false!)
    Address is just a mailbox.
    Did some Google searching. Couldn't really find any real reviews from people in the UK, apart from this site http://www.trustpilot.co.uk/review/slrhut.co.uk which looks far too gushing and good (as if they had written it themselves) No such "success" (or failure) stories on any of the big photography forums. Just people asking questions.
    It could be real, just that there are other charges on top - tax, insurance, customs etc.
    Will stay away for now.

    66tricky
    21 Dec 2011 - 1:17 AM
    0


    Quote:
    It could be real, just that there are other charges on top - tax, insurance, customs etc.
    Will stay away for now.

    The prices quoted are UK shipped inc VAT so no import duty (none on SLR bodies anyway), no customs surcharges etc.

    By law, retailers in UK must include VAT in their displayed prices for "consumer" products.

    This does not, however, apply to prices quoted in catalogues and price lists intended for "the trade" where, by convention, prices are quoted ex-VAT (for obvious reasons).

    In America, consumer prices are always displayed without State sales taxes (which vary from State to State). But any American company advertising consumer prices in UK for goods to be delivered from UK must include VAT. (as, for example, American companies like Amazon do).

    Steppenwolf
    21 Dec 2011 - 10:38 AM
    0

    If it does include VAT then some of the prices look very good, especially if you're just getting a camera body and don't have to pay import duty - although I suspect the battery charger would be the wrong voltage. They even say there's a one year guarantee. It still might be worth considering.

    User_Removed
    21 Dec 2011 - 10:47 AM
    0

    There is no voltage problems with battery chargers. They all work on 110-250v. The only minor problem might be the plug type - but adapters are £3 in Boots.

    mikehit
    mikehit (e2 Member)
    3
    4564 forum postsmikehit vcard United Kingdom5 Constructive Critique Points
    21 Dec 2011 - 11:46 AM
    0


    Quote: The prices quoted are UK shipped inc VAT so no import duty (none on SLR bodies anyway), no customs surcharges etc.

    Is that on the website somewhere?

    From the 'About SLRHut page:

    Quote: Our inventory is always fully stocked and with close ties to many manufacturers and distributors across the world, on the rare occasion when a special order needs to be placed, you are certainly in good hands; we are good at finding needles in haystacks.

    So the prices should be inclusive of VAT.

    rhol2
    2
    206 forum posts United Kingdom1 Constructive Critique Points
    21 Dec 2011 - 12:24 PM
    0

    My feeling after some research....I would think their dealings are perfectly legal, but include what some would see as dubious marketing ploys. A reference to "unit 17" in the address and a reference to a "physical presence in London" iimplies some sort of retail or warehouse premises but it is just an accomodation address, goods appear to be actually shipped from USA. A number of people on various forums and "trustpilot" claim that VAT is indeed added at the last stage of ordering. I would have thought if VAT was included in the advertised price, this would be mentioned as a selling point..also, by default a charge for extended warranty on a camera purchase appears!(As I found out by partially completing an order). Some customers claim to have been happy enough with their main purchase, but have been pushed into buying accessories not always of good quality.
    To be fair, such marketing dodges are commonplace as we can see in many areas of retailing..the term " smoke and mirrors" comes to mind!

    Last Modified By rhol2 at 21 Dec 2011 - 12:29 PM
    First · Prev | 1 · 2 | Next · Last

    Add a Comment

    You must be a member to leave a comment

    Username:
    Password:
    Remember me:
    Un-tick this box if you want to login each time you visit.