Take your photography to the next level and beyond...

• NEWS
  • REVIEWS
  • INSPIRATION
  • COMMUNITY
  • COMPETITIONS

Why not join for free today?

Join for Free

Your total photography experience starts here

Apple MacBooks software

20 Jan 2013 6:36PM
Any advise would be appreciated on the software that is best for MacBooks, a system I have no knowledge on at all as I've only ever used Windows. Which software is recommended ? I/E or Firefox, I have already been advised on downloading the "Aperture" editing programme for RAW images.

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

davewaine e2
7 115 3 England
20 Jan 2013 6:42PM
Safari is Apple's browser, and it is good. It should already be on your Macbook. Other than that, I would recommend Chrome or Firefox. IE isn't available for the Mac as far as I know. For an office suite you can pick between Microsoft Office, Apple's equivalent, iWork, or one of the numerous versions of Open Office. Aperture is a RAW converter. You may still need photo editing software to go with it. Photoshop is available if you can afford it and Pixelmator is a worthwhile substitute if you can't. iPhoto is a fairly basic photo editor, and should be already there. iTunes should also be built in.
seahawk e2
7 616 United Kingdom
20 Jan 2013 7:52PM
Even though I'm a Mac fan and never use anything else I would suggest that Adobe Lightroom is a better program than Aperture - they are both good at processing RAW files but LR wins in the organising/cataloguing function IMO. I would agree with the other suggestions above though.
20 Jan 2013 8:15PM
Thanks very much. Very interesting and helpful advise indeed. I will be using the Mac for uploading RAW images only, and will no doubt use P/S for editing. And Firefox looks a probability. Would welcome any further advise from other Mac users.
Wyn e2
7 3 Wales
20 Jan 2013 8:28PM
Dear Butt,
I run FireFox on my i-Man & MacPro - quicker & more intuative, allowing multiple web pages open at same time