Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

Are there many pro here?

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

New PortraitPro 12 SALE + 10% OFF code EPZROS814
lemmy
lemmy  71831 forum posts United Kingdom
12 Apr 2013 - 4:57 PM

Quote: I've been pecking away at the commercial world for over 2 years and it's like chipping away at granite with a nail file at the moment

One of the few pearls of wisdom I've picked up is that perseverance is more important than anything else. You're the guy who is always there, who always says yes to work, never negative or complaining. If you have that and a speciality like portraits that you can build a name in, it should all come your way eventually. But.....these are tough times, so much competition.

All you can be sure of is that work will not remain in the hands of the lazy or disliked. I used to say, when I talked to budding photographers that if they wanted to go into their own business, whatever branch of the profession, that having photographic ability and all the technical skills necessary was only the first step. The real work started when you were trying to get work, pay for premises, insure equipment, all that.

I really admire commercial guys because unlike an editorial guy like me, they have to take on commercial premises, often staff and all the responsibilities that go with it. They have to be genuine business people whereas many in my branch can wing it a bit. On the other hand, a good commercial business in an area can build goodwill and an ongoing clientele that has commercial value in itself that can be passed on to an offspring or sold as a going concern at retirement time.

In my game, when, like me, you become too old and stupid to work properly, the game is over Wink