Take your photography to the next level and beyond...

• NEWS
  • REVIEWS
  • INSPIRATION
  • COMMUNITY
  • COMPETITIONS

Why not join for free today?

Join for Free

Your total photography experience starts here

Aurora Borealis, the Northern Lights. Nikon D60 Setup?

8 Feb 2009 6:56PM
Hello all,
I'm lucky enough to be going to Norway next week to see the Northern Lights Smile

Being a complete novice (and within 12 months - advanced) I'm looking for some advice on how to best setup my D60 to take pictures of the Aurora Borealis (Northern Lights). I've searched Google and can't seem to find any information/advice.

My equipment:
Nikon D60 SLR
18-55 VR Lens
Tripod
Cable Releaser
2 X Batteries

I'm hoping to get some suggestions and hopefully the comments/advice may be picked up in Google for others to follow in future.

Thanks,

William (UK)

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

Slippery_Jim 6 597 England
8 Feb 2009 7:06PM
Have a look here , some of the photographers have stated their shooting set up
User_Removed 10 17.9k 8 Norway
8 Feb 2009 7:08PM
Little Jo e2
13 2.3k United Kingdom
8 Feb 2009 10:37PM
I didn't think it was a good time for the aurora as there's not much solar activity at the moment. Check Amazon, there was a book on photographing the aurora.

Jo
Hugeknot 9 1.2k 2 Iceland
8 Feb 2009 10:57PM
Hi
set up sturdy tripod, and have a remote shutter (cable). Use the largest aperture possible.

If you can just about see the aurora, but you are not too sure, try a 60sec exposure with 400iso.

If you can see it through your view finder reduce the time to 30 secs.

If it casts a shadow use something like 5-15 seconds.

Be sure to bracket and don't rely on your viewfinder as this will appear brighter than it really is.

You might want to try auto exposure!

The aurora has been strangely quiet for the last three months, but it is starting to come back... have a good trip and good luck!

I have a better guide, plus links on my website .