Take your photography to the next level and beyond...

• NEWS
  • REVIEWS
  • INSPIRATION
  • COMMUNITY
  • COMPETITIONS

Why not join for free today?

Join for Free

Your total photography experience starts here

Auto focus problem on 20d/100-400l usm is plus 2x exteneder

31 May 2005 2:35AM
I need help!!!

im fairly new to this and on last friday brought canon 20d, 100usm macro, 100-400l is usm, 2x exrender and aload of other stuff.
Upon using the 100-400 i thinks its great, but when i put the extender on aswell i cannot auto focus because it will not go any lower than f11, it says on the box it needs to be f 5.4 or lower to focus, also i seem to be getting noise with the extender on, i am using it mainly in apeture priority, is there a rule of thumb or such like i need to know so as to get the most from my 800mm, i have one shot in my PF so far from using 800mm that was not too bad but the others well not so good.
Any help would be much appreciated

Cheers Luke J

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

digicammad e2
11 22.0k 37 United Kingdom
31 May 2005 2:45AM
Luke when you put on the extender you will be losing 2 stops of light due to the extra glass, perhaps more. Long zooms are notoriously slow anyway and the extender worsens this. Manual focus is a fact of life with that setup.

In general if you want to use a long zoom and extender together you need either plenty of light or to increase the iso speed.

Re the noise you report, this is probably due to the longer exposures or higher iso you are having to use, unless the extender is dusty. :0)

Ian
goatster e2
10 399
31 May 2005 2:47AM
Ian, beat me to it.

Luke from the Canon description for the 2x convertor:

Quote:With the Extender attached, the f-number decreases by two stops. Auto-focusing is possible with lenses whose maximum aperture is f/2.8 or faster.

Agree with Ian re noise, check your ISO settings (althought the 20 is known for low noise) and shutter speed.

Tony
31 May 2005 2:49AM