Take your photography to the next level and beyond...

• NEWS
  • REVIEWS
  • INSPIRATION
  • COMMUNITY
  • COMPETITIONS

Why not join for free today?

Join for Free

Your total photography experience starts here

baffled

30 May 2011 12:44PM
I have a pentax k-x, I only bought it a few days ago. I had a nikon D50 but only ever used it in auto which was a bit of a waste. When i put my pentax into M mode There is a meter thing that sort of goes -3 2 1|1 2 3+ and it always seems to go right over to -3 and flashes red. I can change the ISO speed and shutter speed ect... but cant find how to adjust this. My shots seem to come out dark and im a completely novice so im at a loss here.

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

Chrism8 e2
8 753 14 England
30 May 2011 1:49PM
Hi Suzy,

" M " is manual mode, leave the ISO on 200, put the shutter speed on something like 1/125th sec and then adjust the aperture dial throu 5,6 / 8 / 11 / 13 etc until you get the correct exposure.

The correct exposure is a relationship between the shutter speed and the lens aperature, there is no ideal setting that covers all, if you open on up, you'll need to close of slow the other one down.

HTH

Chris
30 May 2011 1:55PM
I haven't got a Pentax, but if it's anything like a Canon, I think it's telling you that the current aperture/shutter speed/ISO setting in Manual mode is too slow. Try increasing the aperture/decreasing the shutter speed/increasing the ISO until the meter goes to the middle - this should give you the correct exposure.
johnriley1uk e2
10 26 4 United Kingdom
1 Jun 2011 4:14PM
It's the manual exposure readout you're looking at. It indicates from -3 stops (underexposure) to +3 stops (overexposure) and the centre point is correct exposure. So, use the back wheel to adjust the aperture and then, holding down the +- button use the wheel again to adjust the shutter speed (or vice versa depending how it's set up) until the bar graph is centered.