Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

Basic kit must haves

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

nic_kukaj
nic_kukaj  1
31 Oct 2012 - 2:14 PM

I am pretty new to DSLR photography, no formal qualification or long term experience- just enjoy taking photos. I have recently had a Nikon D3000 brought for me (Its a starting point!) and am looking at trying to collect a bit of "kit"- but as a novice I am unsure of what I will actually need, which brands are better than others and what I shouldn't waste my money on!
I'm a stay at home mum, so money is probably the biggest factor in whether I buy something, though I am not adverse to saving up to get something which is a bit more "special". And I should also add that so far I am erring towards natural light and portraits... though not had much oppotunity to get out and about and practice other types of photography yet!
So basically, what items would you reccommend to have in my camera bag, which brands are worth investing in, and what isn't worth the time of day?

Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links 
31 Oct 2012 - 2:14 PM

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

User_Removed
31 Oct 2012 - 2:23 PM

Lot's of folk here will give you lots of suggestions.

My first piece of advice would be: Don't buy anything until you find that the lack of it is holding you back.

Having said that, if you are determined to buy a new piece of kit, my suggestion would be a decent tripod.

Pete
Pete Site Moderator 1318430 forum postsPete vcard ePz Advertiser England96 Constructive Critique Points
31 Oct 2012 - 2:36 PM