Take your photography to the next level and beyond...

• NEWS
  • REVIEWS
  • INSPIRATION
  • COMMUNITY
  • COMPETITIONS

Why not join for free today?

Join for Free

Your total photography experience starts here

Beginner pics of water falls

hi all,
i am new to the dslr world of cameras,i have recently bought a canon 400d and a canon 70-300 do is usm lense.its my first dslr and ive not had much time to play around with the settings on the camera at the moment because of working to pay for the camera lol.i would like some advice on what sort off settings i would get the best pictures with, and would i need a tripod to keep the camera still whilst taking a picture of the waterfall.
thanks for any advice

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

KenTaylor e2
10 3.0k 2 United Kingdom
24 Jun 2007 1:54PM

Quote:would i need a tripod to keep the camera still

Yes.
Alongside the camera and lens its your must have item if doing any landscape.
If you want the sense of blurred water flow its slow shutter speed and small aperture.. To freeze it in motion then its a fast shutter speed and large aperture.
Better still look here
Ken
miptog e2
9 3.5k 61 United Kingdom
24 Jun 2007 1:57PM
richard00 e2
8 504 1
24 Jun 2007 2:09PM
For waterfalls ND filters are useful too - cheap on ebay, and a cable release comes in handy too. The 70-300mm will not be wide enough for most waterfalls, you'll need something closer to 18mm - an 18-55, or the sigma 18-125 . Comes down to budget really.
jeanie e2
10 6.0k 6 United Kingdom
24 Jun 2007 3:32PM
ND filters unless its a dull day and you can get away without using them, tripod, remote cable, cloth to wipe lens of inevitable spray if it's a waterfall you are shooting, and last but not least, wellies! Smile
justin c e2
11 4.6k 36 England
24 Jun 2007 3:44PM