Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

Beginner seeking starting point!

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

Bunford
Bunford  1 Wales
13 Feb 2013 - 1:28 PM

I'm a beginner photographer and looking for some pointers to some good tutorials and lessons on how to approach photography.

I think I've a good eye for caputring well framed pictures, but am lacking with camera ability. I've only ever really used basic point and shoot compact cameras. However, I'm now looking to take it seriously and just bought myself a Nikon P510 bridge camera as an introduction into higher quality cameras. I've always put the camera into 'auto' and never bothered with maual settings, so shutter speeds, apertures and iso settings are all new and like a foreign language to me.

I've also bought myself a couple of books o learn the background. I've bought DigitalPhoto's The Digital Photography Manual and Tom Ang's The Digital Photographer's Handbook. However, it'll take time to get through these and am keen to start learning as I read.

If anyone has this cameras or any other good starting points, I'd hugely appreciate any tips or guidance!

Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links 
13 Feb 2013 - 1:28 PM

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

JackAllTog
JackAllTog e2 Member 53513 forum postsJackAllTog vcard United Kingdom58 Constructive Critique Points
13 Feb 2013 - 1:43 PM

Welcome to epZ Gav,

It won't take too long to get as there is only the 3 things to really get. So lets look at just one.

Best place for me to start off was aperture mode, so I'd recommend it to you too - leave the ISO on auto for now.