Take your photography to the next level and beyond...

• NEWS
  • REVIEWS
  • INSPIRATION
  • COMMUNITY
  • COMPETITIONS

Why not join for free today?

Join for Free

Your total photography experience starts here

Beginning Macro/Macro Lenses

VivaMacro 2 4
20 Sep 2012 3:29PM
Hello all, I am definitely still a beginner when it comes to the technical aspects of photography, so go easy on me! I have been using a Canon EOS D30 for a few years now (I know, I know, it's ancient but it's all I can afford), and my favorite shots tend to be macro shots so that's what I would like to learn more about. I am thinking that upgrading to a nicer macro lens would be a logical step, but I have absolutely no idea how to compare different manufacturers and features. Can someone point me in the right direction or let me know what macro lens you would recommend? When I start to research lenses online, I get overwhelmed; any help or advice would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

puertouk 3 1.1k 17 United Kingdom
20 Sep 2012 4:47PM
The Canon 100mm macro. Type it on your google browser and look for reviews. I've read quite a few and they all rate this lens.
Stephen
mikehit e2
5 6.8k 11 United Kingdom
20 Sep 2012 5:36PM
The longer the focal length of the lens, the further you can be from the subject and still get 1:1 magnification. This can be useful for photographing bugs and other small wildlife because it reduces the likelihood of scaring them off - but these lenses are also far more expensive.
If you are doing still life macro then a 50mm lens with extension tubes or a 60mm macro may be enough for you.
One of the benchmarks is the Tamorn 90mm macro which is rated very highly. A bit more is the Canon 100mm macro and (significantly) more expensive still is the Canon 100mm L macro - this last lens has inbuilt image stabilisation.

There are other lenses (such as Sigma) but these seem to be the most popular for Canon users.
Ade_Osman e2