Join Now
Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.
Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!
If I was you cheddar, I would contact your Bank asp and have this payment stopped, and request a payback as I suspect this may be a scam, I got caught by one a few months ago, Zinnga. In that you had to pay 25 quid to cancel membership, but they keep Taking payments for months afterwards, In my case they only got 4 quid but the bank advised me to get rid of my card and apply for new one.
OK, the reason this has happened is that I run Firefox and from somewhere an add-on has attached itself to it. The add-on is called Yontoo 1.20.02. I have now disabled this "whatever it is" and although the survey still appears along the top of the ePhotozine page, there is no active link in it.
Beware Yontoo!
Oh the money was taken from my mobile so I have no way to claim it back (I don't think?)
Quote: and although the survey still appears along the top of the ePhotozine page, there is no active link in it.
The survey is created by us and totally safe. It has nothing to do with the spam links that are from your computer that only you saw.
It's worth downloading and running the free program Malwarebytes to make sure there's nothing else lurking
Quote: OK, the reason this has happened is that I run Firefox and from somewhere an add-on has attached itself to it. The add-on is called Yontoo 1.20.02. I have now disabled this "whatever it is" and although the survey still appears along the top of the ePhotozine page, there is no active link in it.
Beware Yontoo!
Oh the money was taken from my mobile so I have no way to claim it back (I don't think?)
It is worth contacting your mobile provider and explaining the situation, they might be able to claim it back on your behalf, as well as blocking the number on their network going forward.
Cheers hobbs - I'll give that a go but not holding my breath!![]()
Quote: Perhaps this too technical for me ![]()
But those orange links are within the epz created survey wording, so does this imply that somehow somebody has accessed epz and added the links ?
Too technical for me as well but yes, that's basically what "someone" did. They made some of the words into a hyperlink to another survey site where they take your money! Clever but very annoying!
Quote: Perhaps this too technical for me ![]()
But those orange links are within the epz created survey wording, so does this imply that somehow somebody has accessed epz and added the links ?
If your using firefox, you just need to go to the add-ons in firefox and remove Yontoo:
http://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/disable-or-remove-add-ons
Quote: But those orange links are within the epz created survey wording, so does this imply that somehow somebody has accessed epz and added the links ?
No they've run a script on the affected computer to highlight words that they hope the user will click on. It's called the "text link virus". If they'd managed to get into our system everyone would be affected but we'd see it and eradicate rather sharpish!
If it has done nothing else it's taught me how to throw away £4.50, take screen shots and remove malware from my computer. Cheap lesson? - possibly - more annoying!
Quote: Thanks again hobbs. Unfortunately I'm an Orange man!
I hear rumours Ian Paisley uses Orange...
Its worth having a word with Orange, just to make sure they arent one of these scam phone text companies as well, the ones where they send you text and it costs you money each time - and not small amounts either?!
Add a Comment
ePHOTOzine, the web's friendliest photography community.
Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more.













