Take your photography to the next level and beyond...

• NEWS
  • REVIEWS
  • INSPIRATION
  • COMMUNITY
  • COMPETITIONS

Why not join for free today?

Join for Free

Your total photography experience starts here

PRIZES GALORE! Enter The ePHOTOzine Exclusive Christmas Prize Draw; Over £10,000 Worth of Prizes! Plus A Gift For Everybody On Christmas Day!

Blu-Ray: Panasonic v. Sony?

KingBee e2
8 399 2 Scotland
16 Sep 2010 12:15PM
As some of you will know, I'm no techie, so I'll keep this simple.

I want an entry-level Blu-Ray player that will upscale my existing DVD collection to give me best possible picture quality. I'm torn between Sony's S370B and Pana's BD45.

All I want is something that will be fully compatible with my Panasonic Viera TX-L37G10B and when playing SD DVDs will offer near-HD performance. I don't have a home cinema set-up nor do I want one; nor am I particularly interested in streaming anything from the Net. No, I want a player purely to give me the best possible picture when viewing an upscaled DVD via an HDMI connection to the telly: end of.

I'm drawn to the Panasonic because I prefer Viera TVs to Bravias, and common sense would suggest that I should get the same-brand BD player. But if the Sony player beats the Pana hands-down, will there be any loss of functionality hooking it up to my Viera? Reviews I've read would suggest that, for an extra twenty quid, the Sony is the much better machine.

Sorry if similar questions have been asked a million times before, but any help would be very much appreciated.

Thanks. Bob

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

Carabosse e2
11 39.7k 269 England
16 Sep 2010 12:51PM
I have a Panasonic HDTV and a Sony upscaling DVD/HDD player. Works for me! Wink
KingBee e2
8 399 2 Scotland
16 Sep 2010 1:11PM