Take your photography to the next level and beyond...

• NEWS
  • REVIEWS
  • INSPIRATION
  • COMMUNITY
  • COMPETITIONS

Why not join for free today?

Join for Free

Your total photography experience starts here

Bluetooth help please ..

monstersnowman 9 1.7k 1 England
12 Sep 2008 9:53PM
Just been looking at cheap bluetooth dongles that transfer data a distance of up to 150m (enclosed) and 350m (open) for 6 each and wondered if these are suitable for popping in my desktops upstairs and downstairs to do quick simple file transfers. The cost seems very good .. didn't put a link to the product as I suspect I am not allowed. Any techy help appreciated. Are there any other obvious uses for them apart from helping me download files from my mobile easily?? Thanks ..

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

sherlob e2
8 2.4k 126 United Kingdom
13 Sep 2008 12:53AM
I'm no tech expert, but I should imagine the answer is yes - however it still might not be the best solution for you. Have you considered a router? Mine allows both PC's to connect wirelessly and I've added a network drive to the router directly for easy transfer of files and backup - even when either PC is off. Just a thought.

Adam
flyingseale 7 400 3 United Kingdom
13 Sep 2008 10:31AM
Also no expert, but bluetooth range is typically just 10 metres. So check your other device to see what its range is because you won't be able to pair devices over 100m unless they both have this range.
13 Sep 2008 2:23PM