Take your photography to the next level and beyond...

• NEWS
  • REVIEWS
  • INSPIRATION
  • COMMUNITY
  • COMPETITIONS

Why not join for free today?

Join for Free

Your total photography experience starts here

PRIZES GALORE! Enter The ePHOTOzine Exclusive Christmas Prize Draw; Over £10,000 Worth of Prizes! Plus A Gift For Everybody On Christmas Day!

Boxing Event Contract Advice

12 Nov 2012 9:47AM
Hi Folks,

Can I ask for your collective advice / wisdom?! I work as a wedding photographer (primarily) but a friend of mine asked me to come along to one of his boxing events as he has been let down on so many other occasions. He has been so impressed with the images that I have managed to get (as was I!) that he wants to firm up an agreement for me to photograph all of his events in the future.

Now, here I am struggling!

I need a little advice on the structure of the contract and also the pricing of this as I although I am comfortable with my wedding contract, event photography is a new venture for me. I had a few thoughts on the potential structure:

Basic event photography contract (I've downloaded a few from t'internet)

1. Charge for the coverage and agree a contract for the licensing of the images such as here: http://media.gn.apc.org/forms/cccform.pdf
2. Charge a nominal fee for attending and then sell the images online
3. combination of both!

The client has also stated that he would like a percentage of any revenue made from the sale of images but I'm not very comfortable with this.

I'm assuming that I will need model release from all the fighters (and the referee?) also

Any guidance you guys can give is much appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

keithh e2
11 23.4k 33 Wallis And Futuna
12 Nov 2012 12:37PM

Quote:1. Charge for the coverage and agree a contract for the licensing of the images such as here:

I suspect that won't work and it's not what he has in mind - even remotely.