Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

Budget Lighting Kit advice please (specifically relevant to Elinchrom D-Lite IT 4...

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

Leave a Comment
    • «
    • »
    chelle
    chelle  977 forum posts
    9 Oct 2011 - 10:12 PM

Hi all!

I currently have the Elinchrom D-Lite 4 twin head lighting kit. I have been using it for around 3/4 years now and I really like it, apart from one thing (see below).

I have previously used this kit for Uni work and portrait shoots for family and friends. I have been asked to start doing events now but in previous non-paid shoots I have noticed that my lighting kit seems to get really hot and stop working after a couple of hours or so. I think I read somewhere about problems with overheating issues and so assume this is why my lights turn themselves off after a couple of hours use?

At the events I will be doing I will need the lighting to be lasting a lot longer than just a couple of hours so I was thinking about upgrading to the new Elinchrom D-Lite IT 4 lighting kit instead. (My budget isn't very big which is why I'm looking at Elinchrom's cheaper kits.)

Can anyone tell me if the new D-Lite IT 4 kit has overheating issues too as I don't really want to go from one unsuitable kit to another? And also are they suitable for long periods of use (at events or for portrait shoots)?

If they aren't ok for these then are there any similar priced lighting kits anyone would recommend that are suitable for long lengths of time?

Thankyou in advance!

Sponsored Links
    Sponsored Links 
    9 Oct 2011 - 10:12 PM

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

miked70
    miked70  5225 forum posts South Africa3 Constructive Critique Points