buygreendot.com

Forums > Photographic discussion > buygreendot.com

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the web's friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

First · Prev | 1 · 2 | Next · Last
nickyv32
17 Oct 2009 - 11:51 AM
Report Comment

I nearly had a disaster yesterday when trying to purchase through buygreendot.com. Have a look at the information on the site, see what you think, not a bad address for me to have a delivery from.....DARTFORD, nice and local, thought I would phone up and check them out, a young disressed lady answered the phone to say that the company had picked her number out willy nilly and that their address was a local Plumbing business...
It is a scam company from America so if anyone has given Credit card details please stop the card immediately, they take all the details they need for Identity fraud.......
Very kind lady advises all people that phone her to stop their cards immediately, she has checked the address out as well..........................

Last Modified By Moderator Team at 17 Oct 2009 - 12:27 PM
Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links
17 Oct 2009 - 11:51 AM

Chris_L
17 Oct 2009 - 12:03 PM
Report Comment

They've got the Canon 1000D listed four times at four different prices.

It's obviously a fake online shop.

Of course they just need to catch a couple of people out to recoup the cost of setting up the fake site.

High time there was some sort of international system that could stop these sites as soon as people report them as scams; they could check them out and if too suspicious they could be blocked before more people fall victim.

Last Modified By Chris_L at 17 Oct 2009 - 12:04 PM
Bruffy
Bruffy (e2 Member)
2
174 forum postsBruffy vcard England1 Constructive Critique Points
17 Oct 2009 - 12:04 PM
Report Comment

I had an email from an IT hardware supplier of ours yesterday, and buygreendot.com had used their company details too and we were told to double check anything we did online with their company (the proper supplier) looks like quite a big scam this one.

Last Modified By Bruffy at 17 Oct 2009 - 12:05 PM
MikeA
MikeA (e2 Member)
5
665 forum postsMikeA vcard England
17 Oct 2009 - 12:17 PM
Report Comment

Here is another UK - American photo site to be aware of.A friend of mine got caught the other day.
Half way down the page.
On to a much more serious matter: BEWARE

Last Modified By MikeA at 17 Oct 2009 - 12:18 PM
nickyv32
17 Oct 2009 - 12:38 PM
Report Comment

Another company not based in the UK, where they have a .co.uk web address is www.pixmania.co.uk. I bought from this company thinking it was a UK company.
I had an excellent service from Pixmania by the way but I wouldn't have bought in the first place if I had known it was over the water.......

yellowduke
17 Oct 2009 - 5:33 PM
Report Comment

Quote:Another company not based in the UK, where they have a .co.uk web address is www.pixmania.co.uk. I bought from this company thinking it was a UK company.
I had an excellent service from Pixmania by the way but I wouldn't have bought in the first place if I had known it was over the water.......

They have a distribution place in London where you can go and collect as I recall.

Overread
Overread (e2 Member)
2
2524 forum postsOverread vcard England18 Constructive Critique Points
17 Oct 2009 - 5:57 PM
Report Comment

A few of the forums I am on where there is more of an american membership show a lot of these companies similar to the one Mike has described in his link - bait and switch is the term. After you comfirm your details they will often go on to try selling accessories or addons (at highly inflated prices) often of things which should be in the product (say if you order a camera very cheaply, they will then try to sell you the batteries at a far higher rate).
Other things like ending up with import products and no manual etc.... are common.

And of course getting either your money back or your product are highly difficult in most cases - This website here : link is a very good place to check for details on online companies.

Helpful Post! This post was flagged as helpful
SGP
19 Oct 2009 - 12:22 AM
Report Comment

hi there, I wish google was showing thread like this a week ago, I decided I really wanted a D90, around the time 'buygreendot' was set up.. and google shopping helpfully told me they are the cheapest (thanks google)

In short, I saw £470 as a bargain for a D90, and assumed they must have got the price wrong, and jumped at the chance to buy it before they realised.
After my order, and not receiving any reply from thier email, I was a little suspicious and looked around, but there was never any solid proof that they were a scam website. If you look around google today, theres lots of proof Sad
I rang trading standards and they told me to wait a week before taking action, because you never know they could be real..

So, now I have no idea what to do! I'm £470 down, with no camera Sad

If possible, I'd like to follow this up by tracing and charging whoever did this to me.. but I have limited knowledge of such things.. I'm just a poor guy who wanted a fancy camera and got caught up in something he didnt expect

strawman
strawman (e2 Member)
6
19022 forum postsstrawman vcard United Kingdom15 Constructive Critique Points
19 Oct 2009 - 12:29 AM
Report Comment

If you used your credit card you should be covered.

And sadly the message is if its too good to be true, it is, sorry.

I hope you get your money back.

Overread
Overread (e2 Member)
2
2524 forum postsOverread vcard England18 Constructive Critique Points
19 Oct 2009 - 1:35 AM
Report Comment

Generally I find it best to approach online vendors in the following way;

1) Is it a well known and reliable site like Amazon, Warehouse Express, PC world, Dell, Curries etc... If so then I will deal with them happy that I will be safe with my purchase. In the case of places like Jessopes where you can order through a store I will rather than online (I prefer it that way)

2) Is it a highscoring (97% or higher with at least 1000 transactions) ebay trader? If so then I will trade- though only on ebay exclusive products or on lower budget items.

Outside of those conditions if I find a vendor or I ask about one I will trade if I find a lot of posetive results from google and asking around forums before I purchase. Heck just reading through from time to time can show up some good options like One Stop Digital and Kerso.
I also (like many) will research the prices on offer when getting very expensive items and a big warning is if a website is selling something very under the market price when compared to other leading competators - there has to be a reason for this. It might be like One Stop Digital and its grey imports - or it might be because I will never actually see the product Wink

SGP
19 Oct 2009 - 11:15 AM
Report Comment

Well I just cancelled my card, apparently they hadn't taken anything out yet, which makes me even more suspicious!
Why take my details and not even take out the money for the camera?

Edit: does anyone know where the best/cheapest place to buy a D90 would be? lol. second hand would be fine too as long as it works!

Last Modified By SGP at 19 Oct 2009 - 11:21 AM
collywobles
19 Oct 2009 - 11:29 AM
Report Comment

Quote:does anyone know where the best/cheapest place to buy a D90 would be? lol. second hand would be fine too as long as it works
You are not taking the advice given here (see Overeads post) , cut your risks and use one of the reputable sites already given in this post - it will save alot of heartache in the longrun.

SGP
19 Oct 2009 - 11:37 AM
Report Comment

well the fact is,, I'm a student and was hoping to find one a little cheaper than ~£800, as I just don't have that much to splash around. thats why when I saw it for nearly half the price I jumped at the chance.

OK, I'll go without for now, but I can dream!

rowarrior
19 Oct 2009 - 11:45 AM
Report Comment

Quote:Why take my details and not even take out the money for the camera?
Identity fraud.

Chris_L
19 Oct 2009 - 12:03 PM
Report Comment

Yeah, that's why buygreendot.com asks for your date of birth. You also have to set up a password with them, they probably hope you use the same password as for your email address (which you just gave them).

First · Prev | 1 · 2 | Next · Last

Add a Comment

ePHOTOzine, the web's friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more.

You must be a member to leave a comment

Username:
Password:
Remember me:
Un-tick this box if you want to login each time you visit.
Username: Password: