Join Now
Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.
Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!
To answer the questions, I went into my dealer to talk about cameras, and while there I decided to check up on the costs of a 5D and a lens upgrade.
To be honest the trade in offer was not too good, and given the differences in prices between the dealer and the web I was looking at a 40D being only £78 cheaper than UK web price if I traded in (including a lens), so if I get a 40D I will keep the 300D and either trade it on Ebay or keep it as a back up.
He did make me an interesting offer on trade ups from my 175-500 to a 100-400 L IS, on a 2nd hand lens or a new one.
So I am tempted to get a new lens and soldier on a bit longer. The more I look the further I get from buying ![]()
Just saw this from other website:
order the Canon EOS 40D from Jessops using quidco and the jessops 'webex24' code for £26.99 discount and done collection from store. Also free delivery option is available.
The camera works out to:
Camera Price £775.99 - £26.99 using 'webex24' code - £31.87 Tracked through Quidco - £50 Canon Cashback Promotion = £667.13
* Quidco is an online cashback website.
I can vouch for Quidco as I've had around £160 back from them in payments over the last couple of years. Although I'm not sure where you get your figures from. They offer 3% on the price without VAT. 3% on the full price is only £23 so it would be a lot less VAT free plus they would probably take it off the discount price after webex24 was applied!!
I thought about this the other day and had a look in Quidco but for the life of me couldn't find Jessops in its list of stores. I see it now.
However I'm not sure if it is worth getting one just now as there seems to be a price war on it and I think it will continue to fall. An Amazon dealer has it listed for £713.92
Steven.
Also meant to say that if you opt to pick it up in-store I doubt very much if you will get anything from Quidco as they have no way of knowing that you actually went in and bought the camera.
Quidco states on their website "For genuine tracked transactions completed wholly online......."
Still not bad if you want to have it delivered.
Steven.
I've just ordered one via Quidco and it has been tracked already. Quidco claim you get 3% going via their site but it is actually 5% so coltranekoh your figures are quite correct.
Cost £637.44
£31.87 validated
works out at 5% on the pre VAT price.
£667 is a superb price for one of these.
Roll on tomorrow ![]()
Steven.
I have found it for £689.00 delivered from www.digitalrev.com . If this qualifies for the cashback then this is the best price i have seen, however it looks like an import? Any one with experience of this supplier?
Has anyone used HiDigital ( www.hidigital.co.uk )
This is how they describe themselves: ' HiDigital is UK wholesale dropshipper Europe ' Does anyone know that this means, the reason i ask is the £50 cashback offer of course.
They quote £675 as a weekend special offer price, delivered from UK warehouse.
If this is valid for the cashback then that means £625 + postage. Which is the best price i have seen!
Their shipping states "Most of the orders are shipped from UK. However some orders are shipped from Hong Kong ,Japan, USA (all the products are UK compatible with english menu and manual" So if you get an import then the chances are you wouldn't get the cashback.
£25 for next day delivery £15 for 7/8 days!!
Also whois details state:
Domain name:
hidigital.co.uk
Registrant:
Abdel Bibars
Registrant type:
UK Individual
Registrant's address:
The registrant is a non-trading individual who has opted to have their
address omitted from the WHOIS service.
Registrar:
Ekm Systems Ltd t/a Ekm Systems Ltd [Tag = EKMSYSTEMS]
URL: http://www.ekmsystems.co.uk
Relevant dates:
Registered on: 09-Feb-2007
Renewal date: 09-Feb-2009
Last updated: 19-Mar-2007
Registration status:
Registered until renewal date.
Name servers:
ns1.ekmsystems.net
ns2.ekmsystems.net
WHOIS lookup made at 18: 48: 38 07-Oct-2007
I'm not sure I'd want to trust my money with a company that claim to be a non trading individual. If they are a company they should be upfront about it.
Steven.
Well some googling gives me the impression that a dropshiper is someone who does not hold stock but uses an account to forward manufacturers stock straight to the consumer.
I wish it was not as dodgee looking as its a very tempting price. I am struggling to justify all the cost of a new 40D at the moment anyway.
Alcor, you are right. A drop shipper is basically just a shop front, you place an order with them. They then forward to order to a main warehouse where the item will be picked, packed and shipped.
I used to sell a list of UK drop shippers and thought about doing it myself selling power tools.
Quote: I wish it was not as dodgee looking as its a very tempting price. I am struggling to justify all the cost of a new 40D at the moment anyway.
I think considering the 30D was priced at £1200 new if my memory serves me right, then the 40D is an absolute steal working out at £670 after cashback!!
Steven.
Add a Comment
ePHOTOzine, the web's friendliest photography community.
Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more.

















