Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

Canon EOS 300V or Minolta Dynax 5 ?

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

ashk
ashk  11
15 Jan 2003 - 10:30 AM

I am about to buy by first SLR and have narrowed the field down to two. Canon have the better system & appears to be the choice for a beginner, but not to sure about the new styling. The Dynax % has great features, but would you buy a Minolta over a Canon ? As you are the experts, can anyone recommend one over the other, and why?

Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links 
15 Jan 2003 - 10:30 AM

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

collinf
collinf  111219 forum posts
15 Jan 2003 - 11:41 AM

I am by no means an expert, but, my dad has been looking for a new SLR. He narrowed the choices down to the Canon 300V or Nikon F80 package from Jessops (They're offering 28 - 70 (i think) and 70 - 300 zoom lenses with the body).

He looked at the Minolta but didn't like the feel of it.

Unable to decide, he went to Jessops and looked at all three cameras. Although the Nikon has a better spec, he much preferred the feel of the Canon and the way it sits in the hand. The Minolta "just felt funny". He decided on on the Canon 300V with the extra lenses.

I have had Minolta before and never had a problem, IMO a great little camera. I now use a S/H Canon EOS 600 which was bought over a Minolta.

I hope this helps a little. Collin

J-P
J-P  11396 forum posts
16 Jan 2003 - 9:15 AM

I have a Dynax 5. Quite happy overall, though it is a bit flimsy. Flipside is it's loaded with everything your likely to need and very small and light. The spot meter swung it for me over the Nikon F65. Metering isn't great and I overide it quite a bit - if you're not happy with this I'd look elsewhere.