Take your photography to the next level and beyond...

• NEWS
  • REVIEWS
  • INSPIRATION
  • COMMUNITY
  • COMPETITIONS

Why not join for free today?

Join for Free

Your total photography experience starts here

Canon Macro Lens Advice Needed

urdygurdy e2
6 136 3 United Kingdom
24 Sep 2008 5:51PM
as i am kinda new to macro and non zoom lens's i could do with some advice please from people in the know......!!

I really want to try my hand at macro photography after being inspired by members photos in the gallery here on ephotozine

With regards to the following 2 lens
Canon EF-S 60mm f2.8 Macro USM
Canon EF 50mm F2.5 Macro

the minimum focusing distance on both is around 20cm so apart from that & the usm motor and slight Aperture difference and around 60 price difference

What else is the difference between the 2 lens??

I am presuming that at 20cm away from subject the 60mm lens will show you more detail than the 50mm..........!!

Any help or advice would greatly be appreciated.

Thanks in advance

a confused Darren

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

Leif e2
9 722
24 Sep 2008 6:29PM
The 60mm is APS only, so will not work on cameras with larger sensors such as the 5D. Otherwise doesn't the 50mm only go to 1:2?

The lens will be dictated by the intended use. For copying documents, flowers, fungi and indoor studio work, ~50mm is fine. But for insects you really need at least 100mm so that you can stay further away, and have room for macro flash lighting. 200mm is even better for insects, but you pay in terms of weight, size and price.

I suspect you would be better off with the Canon 100mm lens. Maybe Kerso can do one cheapish?
tomcat e2
9 6.2k 15 United Kingdom
24 Sep 2008 6:56PM
Depends on what sort of macro photography you are considering ?

If it is insects etc then you won't go far wrong with a Sigma 150mm or 180mm(though the latter is a tad on the heavy side)

Adrian
cambirder e2
10 7.2k England
24 Sep 2008 7:03PM