Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

Canon versus Olympus re RAW files

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

55% OFF new PortraitPro 12 - use code EPHZROS414.
Leave a Comment
    • «
    • »
    Camairish
    Camairish  81276 forum posts Scotland
    30 May 2010 - 12:00 PM

I've been using an Olympus E-P2 for the last 5 months and the RAW files are so much better than those of the 5D (Mk I). The colours are superb and there is never any dust to worry about. In short, the RAWs take so much less time to process with the Oly than the Canon.
    I'm selling the 5D as I'm not really using it any more. I've kept my L lenses (24-105 & 70-200) and my question is - do the newer Canon bodies (full frame not important) have better colour rendition than the 5D? I shoot mostly stock landscapes with the DSLR and use the m4/3 for street/candid stuff.

At the moment I've gone back to using the Canon lenses on my old EOS 100 with film!

Ian.

Sponsored Links
    Sponsored Links 
    30 May 2010 - 12:00 PM

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

cameracat
    cameracat  108575 forum posts Norfolk Island61 Constructive Critique Points
    30 May 2010 - 12:25 PM

What your seeing there is the march of technology.

My other half noticed the same improvements, Each time she upgraded her Canon bodies.......Smile

Good though the 5D is its still old in digital terms, Lets face it it pre-dates the 20D.

Now my other half uses a Canon 5D MkII and 40D bodies, All the old ones have been sold, In her words the RAW images from either of these, Are good enough to go straight to print, Where as the older cameras raw output would almost always need processing to some degree or other.