Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

Cards for 5D III

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

saltireblue
saltireblue Site Moderator 43922 forum postssaltireblue vcard Norway25 Constructive Critique Points
20 Oct 2012 - 3:37 PM

Never had to think about this before as previous cameras had only one card slot, but my newly acquired 5D III has space for both a CF and an SD.
I have two 16gb Sandiscs, class 10, and always have both with me when out and about.
Should I buy an SD card in addition, and if so, why? What are the benefits of going around with both in the camera?

Malc

Last Modified By saltireblue at 20 Oct 2012 - 3:37 PM
Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links 
20 Oct 2012 - 3:37 PM

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

Coleslaw
Coleslaw e2 Member 913403 forum postsColeslaw vcard Wales28 Constructive Critique Points
20 Oct 2012 - 4:18 PM

I am sure people will correct me if I am wrong.
But SD card is normally slower than CF card.
So, it will affect your write speed if it is set to record to both CF and Sd card together.

Newdevonian
20 Oct 2012 - 4:22 PM

Depends what's in your menus. My camera either writes identical jpeg's to both cards, or jpeg to card A and Raw to card B, or card B is overflow to card A. Admittedly both cards are SD. I assume there are various speeds of CF card?

RTFM SmileSmile

Last Modified By Newdevonian at 20 Oct 2012 - 4:27 PM
saltireblue
saltireblue Site Moderator 43922 forum postssaltireblue vcard Norway25 Constructive Critique Points
20 Oct 2012 - 4:40 PM


Quote: Depends what's in your menus. My camera either writes identical jpeg's to both cards, or jpeg to card A and Raw to card B, or card B is overflow to card A. Admittedly both cards are SD. I assume there are various speeds of CF card?

RTFM SmileSmile

Well, as both yours are SD's then that's not much help, especially as you don't appear to know about the different speeds available, but, yes, CF's are available in a variety of speeds, hence me mentioning class 10's....and the f***ing manual only tells that you can use both, nothing about the pros and cons, and the why or why not.Grin

@Coleslaw...thanks for the info that SD's are slower, Can see the point of having an SD as an in-camera back-up in case of a card failure, but just wonder how likely that is? Can think that RAW on CF and jpeg on SD is the best combo?

Malc

Newdevonian
20 Oct 2012 - 4:50 PM

Well, as both yours are SD's then that's not much help, especially as you don't appear to know about the different speeds available, but, yes, CF's are available in a variety of speeds, hence me mentioning class 10's....and the f***ing manual only tells that you can use both, nothing about the pros and cons, and the why or why not.Grin

[/quote]

Keep your trousers on! Yes my D7000 uses two SD cards but my D100 uses a CF card so I am very aware they come in different speeds. I suggest again that you look in your menus, to see what options you have. There must be some way to control the input to each slot, When someone tries to help you, it is often best to remain polite!!

saltireblue
saltireblue Site Moderator 43922 forum postssaltireblue vcard Norway25 Constructive Critique Points
20 Oct 2012 - 4:55 PM


Quote: Well, as both yours are SD's then that's not much help, especially as you don't appear to know about the different speeds available, but, yes, CF's are available in a variety of speeds, hence me mentioning class 10's....and the f***ing manual only tells that you can use both, nothing about the pros and cons, and the why or why not.Grin


Keep your trousers on! Yes my D7000 uses two SD cards but my D100 uses a CF card so I am very aware they come in different speeds. I suggest again that you look in your menus, to see what options you have. There must be some way to control the input to each slot, When someone tries to help you, it is often best to remain polite!!
[/quote]

Make your mind up...in your first reply you said you assumed there were different speeds, now you state you are fully aware that there are. As I asked about the CF / SD combo and you reply was about SD / SD combo then it wasn't a great deal of help.
As stated, I know I can read the manual / look in the menus, but that doesnm't tell me why I should or shouldn't consider buying an extra card.
Read my OP again.

Malc

Last Modified By saltireblue at 20 Oct 2012 - 4:56 PM
Newdevonian
20 Oct 2012 - 4:59 PM

A saying involving horse and water come to mind! Unless you know what options are available, how do you know if you want it or not!
The assumption was a rhetorical question to Coleslaw. Please don't bother to reply since I am now hiding both you and this thread

Last Modified By Newdevonian at 20 Oct 2012 - 5:02 PM
saltireblue
saltireblue Site Moderator 43922 forum postssaltireblue vcard Norway25 Constructive Critique Points
20 Oct 2012 - 5:38 PM


Quote: A saying involving horse and water come to mind! Unless you know what options are available, how do you know if you want it or not!
The assumption was a rhetorical question to Coleslaw. Please don't bother to reply since I am now hiding both you and this thread

You need to learn to read what the question is before answering, but you won't read this as you have hidden me.

Coleslaw
Coleslaw e2 Member 913403 forum postsColeslaw vcard Wales28 Constructive Critique Points
20 Oct 2012 - 5:45 PM

did something just happen? I am confused! LOL

saltireblue
saltireblue Site Moderator 43922 forum postssaltireblue vcard Norway25 Constructive Critique Points
20 Oct 2012 - 6:04 PM

'Lo again Cole.
Eh, yes, something happenedGrin...I know what I can do combination-wise with cards, what I don't know is why I should choose to do the one or the other...the manual doesn't tell you why, only what...the answer I am after is the why.

So, is it worth putting an SD card in as a back up in case of an in-camera failure of the CF? Apart from that eventuality happening, I can't see the advantages of having two cards. I don't need jpeg images in addition to the raw's I always shoot.

Malc

Last Modified By saltireblue at 20 Oct 2012 - 6:05 PM
colin beeley
colin beeley e2 Member 111070 forum postscolin beeley vcard England10 Constructive Critique Points
20 Oct 2012 - 6:17 PM

get a life you will not know or need to worry about the write speed . i always use my raw images but always backup my other card to jpg. but that's the joy of using 1d cameras Wink

User_Removed
20 Oct 2012 - 6:18 PM


Quote: Can see the point of having an SD as an in-camera back-up in case of a card failure, but just wonder how likely that is? Can think that RAW on CF and jpeg on SD is the best combo?

I'd go with RAW to CF and JPEG to SD if shooting fast. If not then shoot RAW to both.

A faulty card can fail electrically anytime it's being written to. A card failure is more likely to occur in camera than when in your computer so it's worth doing.

Helpful Post! This post was flagged as helpful
saltireblue
saltireblue Site Moderator 43922 forum postssaltireblue vcard Norway25 Constructive Critique Points
20 Oct 2012 - 6:26 PM


Quote: Can see the point of having an SD as an in-camera back-up in case of a card failure, but just wonder how likely that is? Can think that RAW on CF and jpeg on SD is the best combo?

I'd go with RAW to CF and JPEG to SD if shooting fast. If not then shoot RAW to both.

A faulty card can fail electrically anytime it's being written to. A card failure is more likely to occur in camera than when in your computer so it's worth doing.

Many thanks Chris...that's the sort of information I was after. Now I know what the usefullness is of having the two cards.

Malc

saltireblue
saltireblue Site Moderator 43922 forum postssaltireblue vcard Norway25 Constructive Critique Points
20 Oct 2012 - 6:26 PM


Quote: Get a life .../...

Thanks for that.

Malc

Ewanneil
Ewanneil  41118 forum posts Scotland2 Constructive Critique Points
20 Oct 2012 - 6:32 PM

If it's of any help I have a Nikon D300S which also has 2 card slots. I am not interested in using the secondary one for JPEGs so my choice was between back-up or overflow. I felt that the risk of card failure was less than the need for extra capacity so I chose overflow. My primary slot is CF with SD as the overflow location. It works for me.

Helpful Post! This post was flagged as helpful

Add a Comment

You must be a member to leave a comment

Username:
Password:
Remember me:
Un-tick this box if you want to login each time you visit.