Take your photography to the next level and beyond...

• NEWS
  • REVIEWS
  • INSPIRATION
  • COMMUNITY
  • COMPETITIONS

Why not join for free today?

Join for Free

Your total photography experience starts here

PRIZES GALORE! Enter The ePHOTOzine Exclusive Christmas Prize Draw; Over £10,000 Worth of Prizes! Plus A Gift For Everybody On Christmas Day!

Compact Camera

FatBoyfocus 5 69 4 United Kingdom
11 Jan 2012 9:37AM
Hi all

Looking at buying a compact but, want something with the features of a DSLR, without having the bulky dslr.
I was looking at the Canon G12 but, not sure.

Can anyone give me some feedback on above or recommend me something in the same price range.

Thanks

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

User_Removed 5 4.6k 1 Scotland
11 Jan 2012 11:01AM
Can't comment on the Canon as I have no experience of it. But Nikon's nearest equivalent - the P7100 - is excellent.
luceombra 3 27 5 Italy
11 Jan 2012 11:34AM
Hi,

despite the fact of being a Nikon user for years (starting from film up to digital cameras- my first one was a Nikkormat and my last one is a D2X) I decided to buy the G12 Canon instead of the P7100 Nikon and i am VERY VERY VERY satisfied of its performances. It is compact enough but extremely well performing. I recommend it strongly.
For your information most of the pictures in my portfolio were taken with this small beast.
I am at your disposal for any kind of further information

Al
sherlob e2
8 2.4k 126 United Kingdom
11 Jan 2012 12:55PM
I agree with Al. Its a belting camera - although its not pocketable, and no compact is an dSLR equivilant - the sensor size and fixed lens put pay to this. Have you considered a mirrorless system like the PEN or a bridge system? I carry my G12 with me always - but the bulk of my photography is still done using my dSLR.