Take your photography to the next level and beyond...

• NEWS
  • REVIEWS
  • INSPIRATION
  • COMMUNITY
  • COMPETITIONS

Why not join for free today?

Join for Free

Your total photography experience starts here

PRIZES GALORE! Enter The ePHOTOzine Exclusive Christmas Prize Draw; Over £10,000 Worth of Prizes! Plus A Gift For Everybody On Christmas Day!

Compact Camera Advise

Nigeyboy e2
6 537 United Kingdom
15 Sep 2009 2:16PM
Hi all

Been asked for some advise on compact cameras by a work colleague. She is in the market for decent smallish compact. Things she wants it to do are:

1) Have a decent zoom range (optical not digital!)
2) Video option (possibly HD if available)
3) As many 'help' options as possible (ie point and shoot / face recognition / anti red eye etc)
4) Budget is between £150 - £200 give or take a tenner

You get the idea!!

I have no experience whatsoever in this field so its over to you guys!! Can you recommend a decent one?

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

montechoro e2
12 2.3k 2 United Kingdom
15 Sep 2009 2:25PM
This is a cracker of a camera and just in your budget - superb image quality and great reviews - a good all rounder

Great compact camera

Hard to beat at this price
15 Sep 2009 3:45PM
For the ultimate in compact digital cameras, I recommend the Panasonic Lumix TZ7. It's the only camera with a 12x optical zoom and HD video recording capability. It's a few more bucks than the F200EXR recommended above, but well worth the extra expense. Better to spend a little more now and get everything a compact digital camera can offer than to be disappointed later with the cameras limited zoom and video quality because you saved a few bucks now.
montechoro e2
12 2.3k 2 United Kingdom
15 Sep 2009 4:21PM