Take your photography to the next level and beyond...

• NEWS
  • REVIEWS
  • INSPIRATION
  • COMMUNITY
  • COMPETITIONS

Why not join for free today?

Join for Free

Your total photography experience starts here

Compact or D-slr ?

Bloggs 2 313 England
3 Dec 2011 6:23PM
I'm new to photography i have done the everyday stuff with family holiday's etc but i'v never taken a camera out to try to be really creative. I currently have a compact ( Panasonic Lumix DMC-FS510 ) and it's fine for everyday use but i have caught the photography bug now and i'd like to upgrade, but to what i don't know ?

I have looked at some D-slr's and the Nikon 3100 is one that looks like a good buy, but having gone to a store and now seen it and held it i'm not sure it maybe more than i can handle ? So my question is should i take the plunge and go for a D-slr or should i maybe hold back and go for a higher standard compact ? I have found the zoom on my compact very restrictive and also i would like a wider angle also. I want to get out and do more landscapes but i also like the idea of doing other work aswell.

It's a real mine field with camera's and one thing i do like about the D-slr,s is that i could upgrade with better len's as i go on which appeals to my way of thinking. I'm sure other people must have struggled with this problem any comments would be welcome.

Many thanks for your time Sam

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

3 Dec 2011 7:16PM
depends a lot on your budget and what you want to photograph if you want to spend under 250 look for a good compact 250 - 400 one of the new csc such as pen nex ect 400 -800 will get you a good entry level dslr such as nikon canon sony maybe a twin lens outfit
Bloggs 2 313 England
3 Dec 2011 7:33PM