Take your photography to the next level and beyond...

• NEWS
  • REVIEWS
  • INSPIRATION
  • COMMUNITY
  • COMPETITIONS

Why not join for free today?

Join for Free

Your total photography experience starts here

Compatibilty.

6 Jan 2011 8:19PM
Hi
i have a canon 550d, a 1000d and a metz 48 AF-1 digital flash ( E-TTL, ETTL II, HSS, E-TTL REMOTE), does anyone know if there is a cheap
remote flash trigger that is compatible with these items?
I was about to perchase one online thinking any remote trigger will work, it seems i could be wrong?
The flash unit has a built in remote but i dont think either of my cameras support the neccesary function to use it?
I am new to photography and know nothing about flash photography so forgive my ignorance.
This is my first flash unit and i would like to use it off-camera with a soft box to try some portrait shots.
Any help or pointers will be very much appreciated
Thanks Ricky.

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

sherlob e2
8 2.4k 126 United Kingdom
7 Jan 2011 8:21AM
Hi Ricky,

I should imagine this would work with a cheap and cheerful set of radio triggers bought from eBay. The thing to remember with such a set up is that you won't retain all those fancy flash modes, and rather you'll need to control the flash manually. This isn't too bad a price as it helps you to learn the relationship between in camera settings and the degree of flash used. Metz are a very well respected manufacturer and I suspect that they do some kind of trigger device that will enable you to retain these modes, but expect to pay a substantial price...

Adam
7 Jan 2011 9:13AM

Quote:Hi Ricky,