Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

Creating a web page - custom or off the shelf?

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

TimJ
TimJ  10482 forum posts United Kingdom2 Constructive Critique Points
22 Jul 2011 - 6:23 PM

Custom or off the shelf comes down to a question of time, money and expertise. It also depends what you want the site for (i.e. showcase, blog, selling images, community, etc.)

My first photography site was my first e-commerce venture and I used http://jalbum.net/en/ to create the galleries (some themes have e-commerce built in) and then did some of my own web pages to fit around the gallery. It required a bit of techie knowledge, but was fairly straightforward and above all cheap (I was a student at the time). I still use Jalbum as it's a way of generating and publishing galleries mega quick.

If you don't want to have to create any web pages from scratch, look at some of the websites already mentioned or consider using Wordpress as previously mentioned; it requires less technical skills to get it up and running and you can buy a smart template off the shelf for 30-40. This is my preference for a professional looking site but the downside is it takes slightly longer to add all of your images that Jalbum.

It may well come down to a bit of experimenting to see what suits you best. You can try Jalbum and Wordpress for free and you'll get a feel for it they're for you. If it helps I've got a couple of examples you can look at:

http://photo.iboxsolutions.com (uses Jalbum)
http://www.iboxphotography.co.uk (uses Wordpress)

I'm currently moving towards Wordpress because Jalbum is just a gallery and I didn't want to have to built a separate site to match the template.