Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

D lighting on or off

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

Leave a Comment
    • «
    • »
    NEWDIGIT
    NEWDIGIT  3401 forum posts United Kingdom
    31 May 2012 - 4:05 PM

I am relatively new to digital following retirement so processing is a whole new world to me.
    I have the D3100 and D7000 and process using elements 9 I was advised to shoot in Raw with Active D lighting on I am aware that there is more control wth the D7000, however having read the July issue of NPhoto I am now confused as on page 80 it says that D Lighting is best used when shooting Raw files that will be processed by Nikon software as the same files will just look underexposed in Photoshop or Lightroom.
    So what to do ON OR OFF??

Sponsored Links
    Sponsored Links 
    31 May 2012 - 4:05 PM

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

Gaucho
    Gaucho e2 Member 122198 forum postsGaucho vcard United Kingdom2 Constructive Critique Points
    31 May 2012 - 4:11 PM

This may help....or not Smile

User_Removed
    31 May 2012 - 4:17 PM

Active-D Lighting has no direct affect on Raw files (just as other in-camera settings do not directly affect Raw files).

But if you do use any of the in-camera settings when shooting Raw and you process in Nikon's own software (e.g. NX2), then the software will read the settings you used and apply them to the image produced from the Raw file. In third-party software, such as Photoshop, Elements or Lightroom, those in-camera settings are not picked up when you import a Raw file, so there is no point using them.