Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

D70 Infra Red

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

New PortraitPro 12 SALE + 10% OFF code EPZROS814
shannron
shannron  897 forum posts United Kingdom
29 Aug 2007 - 10:03 AM

Hi,

I am studying HNC photography at college and need to carry out a series of Infra red shots to hand in for examination.

I would like to know if anyone knows if Infra red works on the Nikon D70 with an 18-70 lens.

I have tried to find info on various sites to establish my Nanometer and if it is capable of handling Infra red but im still not further forward.

Please help.

Last Modified By shannron at 29 Aug 2007 - 10:04 AM
Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links 
29 Aug 2007 - 10:03 AM

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

FatHandedChap
29 Aug 2007 - 10:21 AM

Digital cameras are only sensitive to the visible spectrum. In order to view infra red light you will need a special camera. The easiest way is to use infra red film. I'm sure there will be people on here which much more experience of using it than I have.

You can digitally simulate infra red, there are some PS actions around if you do a search.

Tony

conrad
conrad  1010874 forum posts116 Constructive Critique Points
29 Aug 2007 - 10:26 AM

No, you can actually take real infrared pictures with digital cameras and infrared filters, but some digital cameras do this better than others. I don't know the Nikon D70 that well, so let's let others answer your question.

shannron
29 Aug 2007 - 10:49 AM

I have been asked by my lecturer to purchase a Hoya R72 filter which should work great as long as my camera has the capability of reaching a high enough level of the IR scale.