Take your photography to the next level and beyond...

• NEWS
  • REVIEWS
  • INSPIRATION
  • COMMUNITY
  • COMPETITIONS

Why not join for free today?

Join for Free

Your total photography experience starts here

D7000 or D300s

Nick_G e2
5 26 England
4 Jun 2012 1:12PM
I have at the moment a Finepix S5 Pro and am looking to upgrade to another DX format Nikon and cant bring myself to choose between the D7000 or the D300s, I dont want any other model as I dont want the added expense of buying different lenses. Any advice on this topic will be gratefully received. I am only a moderately keen amateur. I wouldl ike to do some sports shots and while the S5 can do this to a degree it is not ideal. My lenses are all Nikon :-70-300mm VR, 16-85 VR and 35 mm,1.8 prime.Thanks for looking in.

ps I've no intention selling my S5

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

Steppenwolf 3 971
4 Jun 2012 2:13PM
D7000 every time - it's a much later model so it's got a better sensor (better at high ISO), better focus and is generally faster. The D300s is just about to be replaced. Have a look through the forum, there have been loads of discussions about this.
MikeRC e2
9 3.5k United Kingdom
4 Jun 2012 2:26PM
D7000 for sale in EPZ classified's
icphoto 13 1.5k England
4 Jun 2012 3:24PM
Without doubt a D7000. Had mine for over a year now - it replaced a Fuji S2 Pro, its a great camera and one I am very pleased with. Cheapest deal on the web is with pro camera shop who are based in Carlisle.
4 Jun 2012 3:36PM
The d7000 can not compete in the af department and shooting in bursts will fill the buffer very quick.
The ergonomics of the d300/s is much better as is the build quality.

The d7000 has better high iso performance and extra pixels and video, and the af is not as good as the 300/s.

A quick search on the dpreview forums will confirm that from user that have had the d7000 and sold to get the d300/s again.
The d7000 is not a replacement for the d300/s as many think.