Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

Disillusioned - a bit of a whinge :)

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

dalowsons
dalowsons  1089 forum posts Australia
15 Nov 2005 - 12:20 PM

I am feeling annoyed with myself at the moment - in theory I should be getting better at photography. I have a fantastic new camera (ok, I should allow for a bit of a learning curve) and I am taking more photos than ever ... but I seem to be making more silly mistakes than ever ! I can always see the mistakes AFTERWARDS but not at the time.

Do you think it's feasible to be any good as a self-taught photographer, or if I really want to be any good should I study it to some extent ? I am really thinking that I should go back to basics and learn the technical stuff properly.

Any advice ? Or just sympathy would be fine Smile

Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links 
15 Nov 2005 - 12:20 PM

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

ejtumman
ejtumman  102756 forum posts England
15 Nov 2005 - 12:24 PM

Do you keep making the same mistakes? Or are you learning from them?

IanA
IanA  103048 forum posts England12 Constructive Critique Points
15 Nov 2005 - 12:26 PM

Just slow down for a while!

Wink)

klewis
klewis  101870 forum posts United Kingdom1 Constructive Critique Points
15 Nov 2005 - 12:27 PM

Rather than taking more photos set yourself a challenge of shooting a subject with less photos say just 5 frames and take your time Smile

csurry
csurry  129230 forum posts92 Constructive Critique Points
15 Nov 2005 - 12:27 PM

Alexandra, when you say new camera, is it a big leap forward in technical terms?

What kind of mistakes, exposure, focussing, composition?