Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

Dismissed arrogantly!

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

quengmel
quengmel  3 United Kingdom
10 Dec 2011 - 10:17 PM

Hi everyone, just wanna share an experience i've just had a few hours ago.
First of all i'm a beginner photographer who still has a lot to learn. I haven't had any formal training or anything as such and most of what i know on how to use my dslr are from books and sites as this.

Anyway, i was at a dinner party a few hours ago and the dad of the bday celebrant has a dlsr. He was using it in full auto mode all the time, so with the little knowledge i've got i just showed him a few things to do. Like increasing the iso so he doesn't always have to use the pop up flash. Now bear in mind that the lighting in the restaurant is your typical resto lighting...full of incandescent light.
Anyway, this guy approached me and spoke to me in a dismissive and arrogant manner by telling me that it's better to use flash in this occassion coz it's easier to edit photos with flash rather than taking the photos using the available light in the resto. Now, a lot of stuff that i've read tells me to use available light as much as possible, and to avoid using pop up flash to avoid that dear in the headlights effect.
Now this guy claims to have been in the biz for ove 20 years now. I'm not saying that i was right but the way he spoke to me and humiliated me infront of other people was kinda discouraging to continue with the hobby.
I know this is kinda long but are professional photographers really that arrogant and dismissive of newbies who wants to learn more?
I wanna hear your views especially the pros. Thanks. Apologies for the length.

Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links