Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

Do i need a degree to do what i love?

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

New PortraitPro 12 SALE + 10% OFF code EPZROS814
AliceLuisePhotography

Im in the first year if college nearing entering into the second and all my lectures want to to go the university, but the point is i do not see why i need a degree in photography is there something i could learn more than I'm already learning. Do i need a degree to be classed as professional? Im bit suck I'm torn between yes or no, positives that ill be able to say i have a degree, negatives 2-3 more years of learning before the real world and lots of debt. I like to hear other peoples opinions on photography degrees and if they are worth it?

Thanks Alice!

Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links 
14 Apr 2013 - 8:50 PM

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

ray1
ray1  10518 forum posts England1 Constructive Critique Points
14 Apr 2013 - 8:59 PM

My view would be that you do not need a degree but you do need experience, a good portfolio and an excellent business capability. For some professions a degree in the subject is essential such as being a Dr but not for lots of other things such as photography. A degree course will give you a good opportunity to learn your skill and make contacts etc but you do have to balance that with the cost. I would guess that lots of established photographers do not have a photography degree and most of their business comes from the quality of their work. I don't think many people ask their photographer to see their degree qualification.

LensYews
LensYews  51300 forum posts United Kingdom1 Constructive Critique Points
14 Apr 2013 - 8:59 PM