Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

Do I need to add tax?

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

fraser
fraser  10631 forum posts Scotland14 Constructive Critique Points
16 Feb 2012 - 12:48 PM

I've sold a photograph for use in a German emagazine and they have asked for an invoice including all taxes. Now, I am an amateur and I make pennies from photography so I'm not VAT registered, although I do declare my meagre earnings in my tax returns. Am I right in thinking that I have no tax to add to the invoice?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Fraser

Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links 
16 Feb 2012 - 12:48 PM

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

whipspeed
whipspeed e2 Member 104040 forum postswhipspeed vcard United Kingdom22 Constructive Critique Points
16 Feb 2012 - 1:25 PM

Yes, you are correct, if you are not registered for VAT you don't need to add it to your invoice.

Helpful Post! This post was flagged as helpful
mikehit
mikehit  56474 forum posts United Kingdom9 Constructive Critique Points
16 Feb 2012 - 1:25 PM

For registered companies, if the cheque is coming from outside UK you do not need to charge VAT. I would put a VAT line on there but set it to zero.

Tooth
Tooth  95772 forum posts Ireland227 Constructive Critique Points
16 Feb 2012 - 1:40 PM

I know it's being very picky but if you're not registered I wouldn't put the line there even, it would just make things more confusing. There's a difference between being VAT registered and charging at zero, and not being registered so not charging. I'd suggest if it's an issue a short explanatory note stating you're not registered would suffice

Stephen

fraser
16 Feb 2012 - 2:25 PM