Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

Don't you hate the word 'tog'?

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

New PortraitPro 12 SALE + 10% OFF code EPZROS814
James_G
James_G  7166 forum posts5 Constructive Critique Points
9 Sep 2008 - 3:07 PM

Am I the only person on EPZ who can't abide the word 'tog'? Where did it come from? It sounds as if someone has sat down one day to try to dream up a word that will give people a semi-exclusive language. Why not 'phots' or 'graphs' in that case? Just as ludicrous and irritating. The other day I saw a new member on another thread asking 'what is a tog?'. It clearly isn't in widespread use. I'd never heard it before I joined. It's not used in books or magazines (those that I see). I'm a beginner in photography but work in newspapers and in the industry photographers are universally referred to as 'snappers'. Some of them are 'paps' and if you want to be rude you can call them 'monkeys', but never, ever 'togs'. Whoever heard of Robert Capa being referred to as a 'war tog'? Or Henri Cartier-Bresson as the 'famous Parisian tog'? A tog, for those who don't know, is an efficiency rating for duvets. Let's stop using it. For tog's sake...

Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links 
9 Sep 2008 - 3:07 PM

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

mdpontin
mdpontin  106016 forum posts Scotland
9 Sep 2008 - 3:15 PM

I can't say I'm particularly keen on the term either, James. However, it doesn't bother me all that much.

I would assume 'tog' was was picked out because it's the syllable which tends to receive the most emphasis.

I've always thought 'shrooms was more clumsy to say than mushrooms, too, but it was pretty widespread on ePz not so long ago.

Smile

Jools_jti