Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

Etiquette when taking photos of people

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

55% OFF new PortraitPro 12 - use code EPHZROS414.
chrisheathcote
chrisheathcote e2 Member 7237 forum postschrisheathcote vcard United Kingdom
20 Feb 2007 - 3:45 PM

I'm just getting into photography and had a quick question. Last week I was wandering around London with my camera, and saw a homeless person sleeping outside an expensive jewellers. Straight away I saw an opportunity to play with my new toy, but I ended up missing it because I couldn't bring myself to stand and take a picture of this poor soul. Just wondered what other peoples views were and advice on if I find myself in the same spot again.

Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links 
20 Feb 2007 - 3:45 PM

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

elowes
elowes  92830 forum posts United Kingdom
20 Feb 2007 - 3:51 PM

Like you I find candid difficult as shots like that may cause offence. I have approached people and asked if they mind but you can then end up with a stilted photo.

Most people don't seem to mind though some have 'horror' stories to tell.

mdpontin
mdpontin  96016 forum posts Scotland
20 Feb 2007 - 3:55 PM

Just a suggestion: don't point the camera directly at your subject Wink

Doug

conrad
conrad e2 Member 910870 forum postsconrad vcard 116 Constructive Critique Points
20 Feb 2007 - 4:01 PM

Quote: don't point the camera directly at your subject

Quite. You wouldn't want to photograph the subject, would you...

LOL!

Carabosse
Carabosse e2 Member 1139367 forum postsCarabosse vcard England269 Constructive Critique Points
20 Feb 2007 - 4:11 PM

Try a camera you can use at waist level or one of the better camera phones.