Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

f1.4 prime or f2.8 zoom?

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

dandeakin
dandeakin  6198 forum posts England3 Constructive Critique Points
11 Apr 2013 - 12:48 PM

It's great. Alot is written about it's distortion, which is automatically corrected in Lightroom etc.

f4 even with "4 stop" VR isn't exactly fast. Mind you, You could have a 16-35 f4 and a 28 f1.8 for about the same money as a 14-24.

I've no experience if the 14-24 2.8, but that wouldnt have been an option for me given the difficulty of using filters.

Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links 
11 Apr 2013 - 12:48 PM

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

sigmasd14
sigmasd14  3 United Kingdom
26 Apr 2013 - 1:55 PM

Its quite simple really, you should get a prime, every time!
Zooms are compromise lenses, they compromise on image quality (they are never as sharp as primes at any particular comparable focal length and usually have more CA), they compromise on speed (they are usually several stops slower than primes), they compromise on weight (they usually weigh significantly more than primes) and they compromise on build quality (They are typically constructed with various cheap feeling plastics in an attempt to try to reduce their unavoidable extra weight)...If you want to take the best quality photos possible, you don't compromise, you use the best lenses available...And they are almost always primes. Wink