Take your photography to the next level and beyond...

• NEWS
  • REVIEWS
  • INSPIRATION
  • COMMUNITY
  • COMPETITIONS

Why not join for free today?

Join for Free

Your total photography experience starts here

Filter for high levels of sunshine?

31 Oct 2008 10:52AM
Hi,

I'm going to be spending a month in the Caribbean and want to be able to capture those azure seas well....I have a Canon D400 with a Sigma DC 18-200mm lens. Can anyone recommend a good filter for that sort of very sunny location? At the moment I have a regular UV filter...sorry, quite a beginner here and a technical dunce.

Thanks,

Jonathan

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

ade_mcfade e2
10 15.1k 216 England
31 Oct 2008 10:56AM
polariser could be useful - stops glare and can make colours stronger, and also skies very deep blue

ND grads are useful too - these have a dark and clear bit, so you can put the dark over the bright area (make it look darker the the camera) to balance things up a bit.

beware though, on beaches overseas, the land is often brighter than the sky, so use your ND grad with care
mad-dogs e2
12 2.2k England
31 Oct 2008 10:57AM
Try a 'circular polariser' to darken the blue skies and cut reflections on water.

Rotate the filter to get the desired effect.
31 Oct 2008 11:04AM
Thanks guys....I'll check out these options....Jonathan
31 Oct 2008 11:32AM
I use ND filters (not grads) which suppress the overall intensity of light entering the lens, which work well when I'm happy with the composition of my shot (don't want to rid myself of any brighter areas using a graduated filter). I have ND 4, 8 and in high summer, ofter put both together (just takes more care to ensure you're not adding layers of dust to the shot with each filter).
ade_mcfade e2
10 15.1k 216 England
31 Oct 2008 11:50AM