Login or Join Now

Upload your photos, chat, win prizes and much more

Username:
Password:
Remember Me

Can't Access your Account?

New to ePHOTOzine? Join ePHOTOzine for free!

Like 0

Filter for high levels of sunshine?

Join Now

Join ePHOTOzine, the friendliest photography community.

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more for free!

jonathanbp
jonathanbp e2 Member 699 forum postsjonathanbp vcard Indonesia
31 Oct 2008 - 10:52 AM

Hi,

I'm going to be spending a month in the Caribbean and want to be able to capture those azure seas well....I have a Canon D400 with a Sigma DC 18-200mm lens. Can anyone recommend a good filter for that sort of very sunny location? At the moment I have a regular UV filter...sorry, quite a beginner here and a technical dunce.

Thanks,

Jonathan

Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links 
31 Oct 2008 - 10:52 AM

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

ade_mcfade
ade_mcfade e2 Member 1014837 forum postsade_mcfade vcard England216 Constructive Critique Points
31 Oct 2008 - 10:56 AM

polariser could be useful - stops glare and can make colours stronger, and also skies very deep blue

ND grads are useful too - these have a dark and clear bit, so you can put the dark over the bright area (make it look darker the the camera) to balance things up a bit.

beware though, on beaches overseas, the land is often brighter than the sky, so use your ND grad with care

mad-dogs
mad-dogs  122201 forum posts England
31 Oct 2008 - 10:57 AM

Try a 'circular polariser' to darken the blue skies and cut reflections on water.

Rotate the filter to get the desired effect.

Last Modified By mad-dogs at 31 Oct 2008 - 11:00 AM
jonathanbp
jonathanbp e2 Member 699 forum postsjonathanbp vcard Indonesia
31 Oct 2008 - 11:04 AM

Thanks guys....I'll check out these options....Jonathan

oscarshost
31 Oct 2008 - 11:32 AM